Charged With A Crime? It Doesn’t Mean You’re Guilty.

Things to Know About Criminal Mischief Charges in Denver

| Jun 10, 2020 | Criminal Mischief |

things-know-about-criminal-mischief-charges-omalley-and-sawyer-llc.jpg

Criminal mischief charges in Denver typically involve some type of damage to property or land. The extent of the damage is a large determining factor when it comes to consequences. This charge can also apply when damage is done to something that two people own together. These scenarios sometimes include domestic violence enhancements when the two people involved had a romantic relationship at some point. Whether you’re being accused of vandalism or breaking something during a dispute with a significant other, consult a strategic criminal mischief lawyer right away.

Denver Criminal Mischief Law

Denver’s criminal mischief law prohibits causing damage to another’s personal property or land they own. Additionally, damage that occurs to items a defendant owns jointly with another person can also apply. A key figure in criminal mischief cases throughout Colorado is the $1,000 mark. When the value of total damage done to personal property is under this figure, a misdemeanor applies. However, when $1k is reached or exceeded, a felony charge results. This makes accurate value assessment essential in forming a strong defense to criminal mischief charges. Sometimes law enforcement balloons these figures in an attempt to achieve harsher penalties.

What are the Penalties for Criminal Mischief in Denver?

Vandalism and criminal mischief carry penalties directly associated with the value of items / land damaged. Misdemeanor criminal mischief parameters include:

  • <$300 = class 3 misdemeanor,
  • $300 – $749 = class 2 misdemeanor,
  • $750 – $999 = class 1 misdemeanor

Conviction in these cases can result in up to 18 months in county jail and a maximum fine of $5k. Felony criminal mischief figures include:

  • $1,000 – $4,999 = class 6 felony,
  • $5,000 – $19,999 = class 5 felony,
  • $20,000 – $99,999 = class 4 felony

When damage values remain under $100k, defendants face up to 6 years in DOC and possible six-figure fines.

How to Approach Criminal Mischief Charges

Exercising your right to remain silent and securing an experienced criminal defense attorney are the best approaches to a criminal mischief charge in Colorado. Don’t provide statements to police or try to explain yourself when they question you. Instead, contact our office for a free consultation. Perhaps the damage done was a genuine accident or the values aren’t accurate. We offer same-day jail visits, affordable fees, and flexible payment plans to make determined representation a reality for those facing allegations in Denver, Lakewood, and Aurora.

If you or someone you know has been charged with criminal mischief in Colorado, be smart. Contact the highly rated criminal lawyers at O’Malley and Sawyer, LLC at 303-731-0719. Together, we can protect your future.

Photo by Age Barros