Second-degree burglary charges in Colorado often involve breaking and entering intending to commit an offense against someone or property. These acts of unlawful entry or remaining somewhere with criminal intent have harsh consequences if convicted. It is important to note that while burglary can involve trespassing, there must be an intent to commit some other crime while in the building or on another’s property. Consult a defense attorney with experience defending burglary charges if you’re facing an allegation of breaking and entering in Colorado.
Jefferson County Burglary Laws
Burglary laws in Lakewood, Arvada, and Golden prohibit certain actions surrounding entering and remaining in buildings and on property. CRS 18-4-203 describes the specific violations of 2nd degree burglary throughout Colorado. You commit this offense in Jefferson County if you:
- knowingly beak entrance into,
- enter unlawfully,
- or remain unlawfully (regardless of entry method),
- in an occupied structure or building,
- intending to commit a crime against someone or property
While the assumption is that burglary usually involves some type of violent break-in, this isn’t always the case. Just walking inside a location without authorization and intending to commit a crime such as theft or criminal mischief can result in second-degree burglary charges.
Consequences of Second-Degree Burglary in Colorado
Each burglary case is different. As a result, the consequences of conviction often differ as well. 2nd degree burglary is a class 4 felony in many cases. Defendants face up to 6 years in DOC and a minimum fine of $2K if convicted. However, the following factors amplify the charge to a class 3 felony:
- the burglary was committed in a dwelling (house, apartment, condo, garage, etc.),
- the target was obtaining controlled substances
In these situations, the prison sentence can as much as double and six-figure fines can apply.
Colorado Burglary Attorney
Strategic representation is essential when facing burglary charges in Colorado. Just because you’ve been charged with burglary doesn’t mean you’re guilty. Perhaps you were lawfully on the property or the intent to commit a crime wasn’t formed prior to entry. That said, begin forming a strong defense by contacting our office for a free consultation. One of our attorneys will carefully look over your burglary case and suggest next steps. Our affordable fees and flexible payment plans make obtaining a lawyer possible in uncertain times.
If you or someone you know has been charged with burglary in Colorado, be smart. Contact the determined criminal lawyers at O’Malley and Sawyer, LLC at 303-731-0719. Together, we can protect your future.
Photo by Kelly Lacy