Charged With A Crime? It Doesn’t Mean You’re Guilty.

Driving While Ability Impaired in Adams County | The Slightest Degree

| Apr 15, 2020 | DUI / DWAI |

driving-while-ability-impaired-omalley-and-sawyer-llc.jpg

Driving while ability impaired in Adams County, Colorado involves operating a motor vehicle when affected by alcohol or drugs. Even if you are only impaired in the slightest degree, DWAI charges can follow. Jail time, fines, points against your license, and community service are all potential ramifications of DWAI in Colorado. If you’re facing this charge in Thornton, Commerce City, or Brighton, we suggest you consult one of our skilled DWAI attorneys right away.

Adams County DWAI Law

Adams County’s DWAI law prohibits driving when impaired by alcohol or drugs. C.R.S. 42-4-1301 describes specific DWAI violations. Law enforcement often looks for the following three signs that a driver might be impaired by drugs or alcohol:

  • speeding,
  • weaving in and out of traffic,
  • or failing to stop a traffic light or stop sign

However, any irregular driving patterns can lead police to pull a driver over in Adams County. As cops survey your car, speech pattern, and alertness, they determine their next steps. If asked to do any roadside maneuvers it is best to politely decline. Determining a driver’s BAC is critical in DWAI / DUI cases. If arrested, drivers are often given the option of a breath or blood test at the police station. It is wise to accept this test as refusal results in immediate driver’s license suspension.

DWAI Penalties in Adams County

DWAI penalties depend largely on a defendant’s history of prior offenses. A first-time DWAI in Colorado can result in 2 – 180 days in county jail, fines of up to $500, community service, and 8 points on your DMV record. From there, additional DWAI offenses can result in mandatory jail time, increased fines, more hours of community service, and similar DMV point penalties. A fourth DWAI is a felony offense, regardless of the state in which prior offenses occurred. This can mean years in prison, six-figure fines, and three years of parole.

Colorado DWAI Defense Attorney

While there are options when it comes to choosing a defense attorney for DWAI charges, selecting the right one for your unique case is essential. Our strategic criminal lawyers have over 40 years of combined experience successfully fighting DWAI / DUI charges throughout Colorado. Perhaps your BAC was under .05% when you drove, probably cause is lacking, or your breath / blood test wasn’t performed correctly. Nevertheless, contact our office for a free consultation with a strategic DWAI attorney. We will carefully analyze your case and suggest next steps in your defense.

If you or someone you know is facing DWAI charges in Colorado, be smart. Contact the highly rated defense lawyers at O’Malley and Sawyer, LLC at 303-731-0719. Together, we can protect your future.

Photo by why kei on Unsplash