Possession of a weapon by a previous offender is a criminal charge in Adams County, Colorado that involves those with a certain criminal history possessing, using, or carrying a firearm. Also known as felon with a firearm, this offense has the potential to make a difficult situation that much worse. Any accusations or charges of unlawful weapon possession in Thornton or Brighton requires contacting a skilled criminal defense attorney right away.
Possession of a Weapon – Previous Offender in Colorado
C.R.S. 18-12-108 defines the specifics of possession of a weapon by a previous offender in the state of Colorado. Someone commits this crime in Adams County if they:
- knowingly possess, use, or carry,
- a firearm or any other weapon under 18-1-901(3)(h),
- AND have a prior conviction of a felony or attempt or conspiracy to commit a felony
Additionally, this applies to those adjudicated as a juvenile whose crime is considered a felony if committed by an adult. It is also important to note that any type of gun in your possession can lead to a charge as a previous offender, even if the weapon won’t fire, isn’t loaded, or has a broken mechanism.
Can You Go to Jail for Possession of a Weapon by a Previous Offender in Colorado?
Typically, possession of a weapon by a felon is a class 6 felony in Thornton, Commerce City, and Brighton. Conviction can result in up to 18 months in the Colorado Department of Corrections, a year of parole, and fines of $1,000 – $100,000. However, if the item you’re in possession of is a dangerous weapon, a class 5 felony applies. This can mean up to 3 years in prison and amplified fines at sentencing. Dangerous weapons include firearm silencers, machine guns, short rifles, short shotguns, or ballistic knives.
Adams County Possession of Weapons Defense Lawyer
Having a criminal record in Colorado creates for a risky situation in relation to weapon possession. Something as innocent as buying kitchen knives at a store and transporting them home can lead to another criminal charge. Fortunately, Adams County’s top defense attorneys are a phone call away if you find yourself in another difficult scenario. We have decades of experience defending clients facing weapon possession charges in Colorado.
Contact our office today for a free initial consultation. We will carefully analyze your unique situation and suggest next steps.
If you or someone you know is facing charges of possession of a weapon by a previous offender in Colorado, be smart. Contact the strategic defense attorneys at O’Malley and Sawyer, LLC at 303-731-0719. Together, we can protect your future.
Photo by 13smok