There are many actions that can lead to a harassment charge in Colorado, some more obvious than others. One particular scenario that often results from flaring tempers is shouting obscene language in a public place that may include some type of threat. A high school football coach was recently arrested for harassment after allegedly running on to the field after a play and cursing at a referee. Charges of harassment should be taken seriously and contacting an experienced harassment defense attorney is crucial in forming a strong defense.
What Qualifies as a Harassment Charge in Larimer County?
C.R.S. 18-9-111 addresses harassment in Fort Collins, Loveland, and Estes Park. Someone commits harassment in Larimer County if they:
- strike, shove, or kick another person,
- use obscene language or gestures towards someone in a public place,
- closely follow a person in a public place,
- threaten bodily injury or property damage,
- cyberbully a person,
- repeatedly call another person,
- contact someone by phone or text at unreasonable hours,
- insult, taunt, or challenge a person with offensive language
Unfortunately, something as small as a believable accusation is enough to face a harassment charge in Fort Collins. Additionally, this crime is often charged alongside the sentence enhancer of domestic violence. Partners might allow their tempers to get the best of them and make a threat toward the other person, which can result in a restraining / protection order as well.
Can You Go to Jail for Harassment in Larimer County?
Criminal harassment is typically a class 3 misdemeanor throughout Larimer County. Potential consequences include up to 6 months in county jail and fines of $50 – $750. However, in situations where the harassment itself was due to another person’s actual or perceived race, color, religion, ancestry, or national origin, penalties amplify. As a class 1 misdemeanor, a defendant faces 6 – 18 months in county jail and fines of up to $5,000.
Larimer County Harassment Attorney
Obtaining a reputable criminal defense attorney is vital in harassment charges throughout Colorado. At O’Malley and Sawyer, LLC we have decades of experience successfully defending clients facing harassment charges. We understand that sometimes anger overcomes us as people and we say things we shouldn’t have. However, this shouldn’t define you or your future. Perhaps the communication wasn’t obscene or offensive, or what you said was constitutionally protected. Nevertheless, contact our office to speak with Larimer County’s best harassment defense attorneys. We offer a free initial consultation where we will carefully analyze your unique circumstances and suggest next steps.
If you or someone you know is facing a harassment charge in Colorado, be smart. Contact the aggressive defense lawyers at O’Malley and Sawyer, LLC at 303-731-0719. Together, we can protect your future.
Photo Credit: Pexels – Pixabay