Charged With A Crime? It Doesn’t Mean You’re Guilty.

Criminal Trespass Lawyer in El Paso County | YouTubers Trespass Government Site

| Sep 12, 2019 | Trespass |

criminal-trespass-lawyer-omalley-and-sawyer-llc.jpg

Criminal trespass charges can result from situations where someone unlawfully enters or remains on another’s property. It can be charged in three degrees in El Paso County, ranging from a petty offense to a class five felony. The elements that determine a criminal trespass charge are the type of property involved and the reason for entering or remaining. Earlier this month, two foreign YouTube stars were arrested for trespassing at a national security site near Area 51 after hoping to capture some footage of a “crazy adventure.” Charges such as these demand experienced representation from a criminal trespass lawyer.

What is Considered Criminal Trespassing in El Paso County?

Criminal Trespass charges in Colorado Springs can result from many different circumstances. Someone commits this offense in El Paso County when they:

  • knowingly and unlawfully,
  • enter or remain,
  • on or in someone else’s property

This crime is more serious when the property is someone’s home, land labeled as agricultural, or a government site, as in the story above. Additionally, entering someone’s vehicle with the intent to commit a crime can lead to felony charges. Unlawfully entering or remaining in locations that are fenced or have a clear barrier (that aren’t houses) is usually a misdemeanor offense. Locations such as hotel lobbies and condo / apartment common areas are included here as well.

How Much Jail Time Can You Get for Criminal Trespassing in Colorado?

The ramifications of a criminal trespass conviction vary depending on certain circumstances. On the lower end of the spectrum, misdemeanor trespassing can result in up to 12 months in county jail and $50 – $1,000 in fines. However, when criminal trespass involves a home, the intent to commit a crime in a car, or a felony on agricultural land, potential penalties grow. 1 – 6 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections and up to $500,000 in fines can apply at sentencing.

El Paso County Criminal Trespass Lawyer

Just because you’ve been accused of trespassing doesn’t mean you’re guilty. Perhaps you were lawfully on the property or you didn’t know you were entering agricultural land. Nonetheless, hiring a skilled defense lawyer early on can have a positive impact on the outcome of your case. Colorado’s criminal trespass laws are complex and can be confusing. Having an advocate for your future is essential. Contact El Paso County’s best defense attorneys for a free consultation. We will thoroughly analyze your unique situation and suggest next steps in forming your defense.

If you or someone you know is facing criminal trespass charges, be smart. Contact the aggressive criminal defense attorneys at O’Malley and Sawyer, LLC at 303-731-0719. Together, we can protect your future.

Photo Credit: Pexels – Pixabay