Charged With A Crime? It Doesn’t Mean You’re Guilty.

Disorderly Conduct Lawyer in Denver

| Jun 20, 2019 | Disorderly Conduct |

disorderly-conduct-lawyer-denver-omalley-and-sawyer-llc.jpg

Disorderly conduct is a crime in Colorado that involves citizens disturbing the peace, engaging in physical altercations, or acting recklessly. Many different actions can lead to criminal charges when a person loses their cool. This week, an incident in Colorado has gained national attention where several people were cited for disorderly conduct after a fight broke out at a youth baseball game. Adults were videoed exchanging punches in response to a controversial call made by a teenage umpire. Consulting an expert disorderly conduct lawyer is especially wise for anyone facing accusations or charges.

What Qualifies as Disorderly Conduct in Denver?

Disorderly conduct is often seen as a catch-all for a lot of different behaviors. C.R.S. 18-9-106 defines the circumstances of disorderly conduct in Denver and throughout Colorado. A person commits this crime if they intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly:

  • make an offensive remark or gesture that could lead to a breach of the peace,
  • create unreasonable noise in public,
  • engage in a fight with someone in a public place,
  • discharge a firearm in public (exceptions apply for target practice, hunting, and certain funerals),
  • display a deadly weapon, something that resembles a deadly weapon, or verbally state that they are armed with a deadly weapon in a public location

The only exception to something like fighting in public is if it is for the purpose of an amateur or professional contest of athletic skill.

How Long Can You Go to Jail for Disorderly Conduct in Colorado?

The punishments for conviction of disorderly conduct in Colorado depend on the specific scenarios present in each case. Additionally, defendants represented by an experienced disorderly conduct lawyer can often achieve a better outcome. Typically, disorderly conduct charges can range from a class 1 petty offense to a class 2 misdemeanor. Up to 12 months in county jail and fines reaching $1,000 can be part of a sentence.

Should I Get a Lawyer for Disorderly Conduct?

Absolutely. While some don’t see disorderly conduct as a serious crime, conviction can include impactful ramifications that negatively alter your life. Any crime that can amplify from a petty offense to a misdemeanor depending on specific details requires help from an expert criminal defense attorney. Perhaps you were simply defending yourself or were part of a protest exercising your First Amendment rights. We highly encourage those facing an accusation, citation, or charge not to speak with law enforcement or provide statements of any kind. In fact, talking about your case with other people or via electronic communication can really affect your outcome. Exercise your right to remain silent and contact our office to schedule a free consultation. We will carefully analyze your unique situation and suggest results-driven next steps.

If you or someone you know is facing disorderly conduct accusations, be smart. Contact the strategic defense attorneys at O’Malley and Sawyer at 303-731-0719. Together, we can protect your future.

Photo Credit: Pixabay – cindydangerjones