Trespassing is an offense in Lakewood, Golden, and Wheat Ridge that involves a person unlawfully entering or remaining on someone else’s property. This past winter, an officer was injured after an altercation with a Colorado man who was scene trespassing and behaving strangely. After police arrived on the scene, the man became defiant to the police officer’s commands and proceeded to engage in a physical altercation with the officer. In addition to the trespassing charge, the man also faces 2nd degree assault on a police officer for his conduct. Any situation involving criminal trespass accusations requires representation from an expert trespassing attorney.
What is Considered Criminal Trespassing in Jefferson County, CO?
Trespassing can be charged in one of three degrees in Colorado:
- 3rd Degree Criminal Trespass C.R.S. 18-4-504
- 2nd Degree Criminal Trespass C.R.S. 18-4-503
- 1st Degree Criminal Trespass C.R.S. 18-4-502
The least severe, trespassing in the third degree, occurs when a man or woman unlawfully enters or remains on someone’s property that isn’t a dwelling or doesn’t have an obvious barrier or fence. Entering or remaining in locations that are enclosed, such as hotel lobbies, apartment buildings, or sometimes vehicles, can result in trespassing in the second degree. Finally, trespassing in the first degree applies to situations where a person knowingly and unlawfully enters or remains in another’s home or enters a vehicle with the intent to commit a crime.
How Serious is a Trespassing Charge in Jefferson County, CO?
Any charge of criminal trespass should be taken seriously. A class 1 petty offense applies to entering or remaining on property that is not agricultural land (or a dwelling). Unlawfully entering or remaining in a place with an obvious barrier meant to deter intruders is a class 3 misdemeanor and can result in up to a year in county jail and $1,000 in fines. Furthermore, when a residence is knowingly and unlawfully intruded upon, a class 5 felony can result. Penalties may include 1 – 3 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections and up to $100,000 in fines.
Do I Need a Lawyer for Trespassing in Jefferson County, CO?
Absolutely. A great deal is on the line concerning a charge with potential jail time and substantial fines. Law enforcement and prosecutors won’t rest in their attempt to convict you. Consulting an experienced trespassing attorney is your best defense when trying to combat their pursuit. Key details and vital evidence exist in criminal trespass situations that require careful analysis by a skilled defense lawyer. Contact our office for a free consultation where we will hear your side of the story and outline productive next steps, all while prioritizing your best possible outcome.
If you or someone you know is facing trespassing charges, be smart. Contact the highly rated defense lawyers at O’Malley and Sawyer, LLC at 303-731-0719. Together, we can protect your future.
Photo Credit: Pexels – Travis Saylor