Reckless Endangerment charges are serious in Denver, and a conviction can mean jail time and high fines. Denver Police Officers will charge you with this crime when they believe you have acted in a way that created a substantial risk of serious bodily injury to another person. Serious bodily injury means “bodily injury which, either at the time of the actual injury or at a later time, involves a substantial risk of serious permanent disfigurement, a substantial risk of protracted loss or impairment of the function of any part or organ of the body, or breaks, fractures, or burns of the second or third degree.”
Is Reckless Endangerment a Violent Crime in Arapahoe County? | Examples of Reckless Endangerment
Reckless Endangerment isn’t necessarily a violent crime in Arapahoe County, because it can be charged simply based on the risk of serious bodily injury. The offense does not require that a serious bodily injury occurred. Such an ambiguous term opens up countless scenarios where a police officer in Centennial or Englewood could charge you with Reckless Endangerment. Our attorneys often see charges made after a firearm is shot indoors – perhaps a person was cleaning their weapon and did not realize that there was still a bullet in the chamber. Another example can be after erratic driving that created a substantial risk to other drivers. A woman in Colorado Springs was charged with Reckless Endangerment, along with Vehicular Eluding and 2nd-Degree Assault on a Peace Officer, after driving erratically and refusing to pull over. Even texting while driving and accidentally rear-ending the car in front of you could be considered Reckless Endangerment.
What Are the Charges for Reckless Endangerment in Jefferson County?
Police don’t care whether or not you intended to cause the risk of serious bodily injury. If charged with Reckless Endangerment in Jefferson County, you will be facing the penalties of a class 3 misdemeanor. In Colorado, a class 3 misdemeanor can mean up to 6 months in jail and fines up to $750. As this crime often accompanies additional charges (such as this man in Florence who was charged with Reckless Endangerment as well as criminally negligent homicide and second-degree murder), you could be facing a much longer prison sentence and higher fines.
Adams County Defense Attorney for Reckless Endangerment Charges
Just because an accident happens, does not mean you are guilty of a crime. If you are facing charges of Reckless Endangerment or any other criminal offense in Adams County, our experienced defense attorneys are here to help, 24/7. If contacted by law enforcement, exercise your right to remain silent and contact the law office of O’Malley and Sawyer at 303-731-0719. Together, we can protect your future.
Read more about Reckless Endangerment.