Caught With a Firearm after Being Convicted of a Felony in Colorado
If you have been convicted of a felony or convicted of attempting or conspiring to commit a felony, you are not permitted to possess a firearm. This includes a handgun, automatic, revolver, pistol, rifle, shotgun, or any other instrument/device that can discharge bullets, cartridges, or other explosive charges. If caught with a firearm in Denver or anywhere in Colorado, you will be charged with Possession of Weapons by Previous Offenders, a class 6 felony.
The Second Amendment and Felons in El Paso County
The Second Amendment no longer applies to you after you have been charged with a crime such as Sexual Assault, Felony Theft, Stalking, or a subsequent offense of Indecent Exposure. We often see this crime accompany other charges, like this man in El Paso County who was charged with Possession of Weapons by Previous Offender, along with Burglary, Menacing, and Harassment. However, it could be charged on it’s own if you are discovered to have a gun in your home, you decided to shoot shotguns with friends at a bachelor party, or even if you just held a gun to admire it.
Penalty for a Felon in Possession of a Weapon in Arapahoe County
If a convicted felon in Arapahoe County is found with a weapon in their possession, they will face at least a class 6 felony. This is punishable by 12 – 18 months in prison and fines between $1,000 and $100,000. Possession of Weapons by Previous Offenders is a class 5 felony if the weapon is a particularly dangerous weapon, such as a firearm silencer, machine gun, short shotgun, short rifle, or ballistic knife. If the person’s previous conviction was for Burglary or Arson within the last 10 years (or within 10 years from their release from prison), it will also be a class 5 felony. Committing a class 5 felony in cities such as Centennial, Englewood, and Sheridan could mean 1 – 3 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections and fines as high as $100,000 if convicted.
Jefferson County Lawyer for Possession of Weapons by Previous Offenders
If you are a convicted felon and a Jefferson County Sheriff has claimed that you have a firearm in your possession, it is very important to exercise your right to remain silent when speaking with law enforcement. As a serious felony offense that could mean years in prison, if you are charged with Possession of a Weapon by a Previous Offender don’t leave your fate in the hands of an inexperienced public defender. Instead, call an experienced criminal defense lawyer at O’Malley and Sawyer at 303-731-0719. Together, we can protect your future.