Denver Lawyer for False Accusations
Thanksgiving approaching has people thinking about all they have to be thankful for, and I’m sure that a man in Texas is still counting his blessings after a selfie of all things saved him from what could have been a life in prison. A 21 year-old was shocked when police came to take him into custody, saying there was a warrant for his arrest. Though the police rudely said “Don’t act like you don’t know” when he asked for the reason, he really was at a loss as to why. Turns out that an ex-girlfriend from high school with a grudge claimed that he had forced his way into her home and attacked her, carving an “X” below her neck with a box cutter. There was one big flaw to her story though: he wasn’t there. He was 70 miles away with his parents, and thankfully his mom posted a selfie that he had taken of himself with his family while they were out that night, right at the time that the woman claimed he had attacked her.
Falsely Accused of a Crime in Arapahoe County
If you’ve been falsely accused of a crime in Arapahoe County or anywhere in Colorado, you know how stressful the situation can be. Not everyone is as lucky as the man in Texas. He and his lawyer discussed how if the woman had “claimed that the attacked had taken place the day before or after… (his) only excuse would have been that he was sitting at home watching TV – a much less convincing alibi” (Washington Post). The police are usually much more inclined to believe the supposed ‘victim’ in cases like this, and do not consider the accused to be “innocent until proven guilty” as they should. This is why it is so important that if police come to your door with a warrant for your arrest, you should exercise your right to remain silent: they are looking for anything that you say that they can use in court as evidence to convict you of the crime.
Penalty of Burglary and Assault Conviction in Jefferson County
While the laws in Texas are different, if the man had been charged of the same actions in Colorado, he would have been facing Assault and Burglary charges. Both First Degree Assault and First Degree Burglary are a class 3 felony in Jefferson County, each punishable by 4 – 12 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections (prison), a fine between $3,000 and $750,000, and a term of mandatory parole after release from prison. Beyond this, a serious felony conviction on his record would have made it incredibly difficult to find a job and to apply for housing. Even the charge on his record, though proven to be false, made his application to enlist in the U.S. Army be denied.
Douglas County Defense Attorney for False Accusations
Don’t let someone’s lies ruin your life. If you have been falsely accused of a crime in Douglas County, or need to expunge your record after false allegations, our lawyers our here to help. Speak with an experienced criminal defense attorney today to set up a free initial consultation or to schedule a jail visit. Call the law office of O’Malley and Sawyer at 303-731-0719. Together, we can protect your future.