Sex Offender Registration in Arapahoe County
In Arapahoe County, and throughout Colorado, if you are convicted of an unlawful sexual offense you are required by law to register as a sex offender. Some of the criminal offenses that require registration include sexual assault on a child, enticement of a child, aggravated incest, indecent exposure, and internet luring of a child. While some people have the option to one day petition the Arapahoe County Court for deregistration (no one can simply stop registering, even when the time sentenced to register has been completed), those who are considered sexually violent predators and those who were convicted of the most serious sex crimes will have to remain registered for the rest of their life.
What Is the Procedure for Registering as a Sex Offender in Douglas County?
If you are required to register as a sex offender, you must visit the local law enforcement agency in the jurisdiction in which you live, within 5 business days of your release from jail/prison, or within 5 days of receiving a notice to register. Failure to do so will result in an additional charge for failure to register. You are required to give your name, address, place of work, email addresses, as well as other personal information, along with a current photograph. The Colorado Bureau of Investigation has the legal right to post online your name, address, description, photograph, and other identifying characteristics, if you are a registered sex offender. Local law enforcement agencies may post your information on their website as well, if you have been convicted of a felony sex offense, or are a repeat offender for particular crimes (C.R.S. 16-22-112).
How Often Do You Have to Register as a Sex Offender in Adams County?
In Adams County, until you have be granted a court order to discontinue registration, you must continue to register every year, within 5 business days before or after your birthday. If you are considered a sexually violent predator, or anyone charged with a particularly serious crime, such as Sexual Assault on a Child by One in a Position of Trust and First Degree Sexual Assault, you must reregister quarterly (every 90 days). As failing to register on time will result in charges of Failure to Register as a Sex Offender (C.R.S. 18-3-412.5), with the possibility of prison or jail time as a result, it is important that you never forget when it is time to register.
Jefferson County Lawyer for Sex Offense Crimes and Petitioning to Discontinue Registration
If you have been charged with a crime that requires sex offender registration, are ready to go through the process to deregister as a sex offender, or are facing charges for failure to register in Jefferson County, our experienced criminal defense lawyers are here to help. Call us today at 303-731-0719 to set up a free initial consultation, or to schedule a jail visit. Together, we can protect your future.
Read more about registering as a sex offender.