Charged With A Crime? It Doesn’t Mean You’re Guilty.

Denver, Colorado Defense Lawyer for Sexual Exploitation of a Child Charges

| Nov 14, 2018 | Sexual Exploitation of a Child |

sexual-exploitation-of-a-child-denver-attorney-criminal-defense.jpg

Man in Larimer County Arrested on 12 Counts of Sexual Exploitation of a Child

After a Cyber Crimes Unit’s search led them to a local I.P. address, the Loveland Police SWAT team was able to get a search warrant for an apartment in Loveland. According to the article by Fox31 Denver, they arrested a man, who is now facing 12 counts of sexual exploitation of a child and two counts of sexual assault on a child by one in a position of trust. All of the crimes are serious felony charges, that can be subject to indeterminate sentencing. This means that if convicted, the judge does not have to give the man a maximum sentence in prison, which can result in a life sentence.

Sexual Exploitation of a Child: Arapahoe County’s Child Pornography Law

If you are caught possessing, creating, distributing, or selling child pornography in Arapahoe County, you will be charged with Sexual Exploitation of a Child. The man who was arrested in Loveland received 12 counts of Sexual Exploitation of a Child – 2 for the possession of the images, 3 for having pornographic movie files, and 7 because of his distribution of the explicit images of minors. We have also seen cases where people are charged with this crime because they allowed a child to be used for the making of sexually exploitive material.

Adams County Penalties for Possessing Child Pornography

In Adams County and anywhere in Colorado, the penalties for possessing child pornography are severe. Sexual Exploitation of a Child is a class 5 felony if you possess or control any sexually exploitative material for any purpose, which will mean anywhere from 1 to 3 years in prison and a fine between $1,000 and $100,000. If it is a second or subsequent offense, or you have more than 20 different pornographic items, it will be a class 4 felony. If you are caught causing or inducing and child to engage in the making of the material, selling, or distributing the material, the offense is a class 3 felony. The sentence for a class 3 felony in Colorado ranges between 4 – 12 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections, and fines as high as $750,000.

Denver Criminal Defense Lawyer for Sexual Exploitation of a Child

If you or a loved one are facing charges for Sexual Exploitation of a Child, be smart and exercise your right to remain silent if contacted by police. Instead, contact an experienced Denver criminal defense lawyer who has a strong understanding of Colorado’s laws regarding child pornography. Call the law office of O’Malley and Sawyer today at 303-731-0719. Together, we can protect your future.

Read more about Sexual Exploitation of a Child charges.