What is False Imprisonment in Denver, Colorado?
If you confine or detain someone against their will in Denver, Colorado, you could be charged with False Imprisonment. Not as serious as kidnapping, False Imprisonment involves detaining someone where they already were, and not allowing them to leave. Police may detain someone against their will, but as long as they have the proper legal authority to do so, they will not be charged with this crime.
Recent case of False Imprisonment in Fort Collins
Last week a football player from the University of Wyoming faced criminal charges after staying in a hotel in Fort Collins. The article does not give many details, saying that a hotel employee and a guest were involved, and that he faces charges of False Imprisonment and Harassment. These charges will be hurtful to his career, not only because he has been suspended indefinitely from the team, but also because he will be facing possible jail time, fines, and a criminal record.
What is the Penalty in Douglas County for False Imprisonment
In Douglas County and throughout Colorado, False Imprisonment is a class 2 misdemeanor. The penalties for a class 2 misdemeanor range from 3-12 months in the Colorado Department of Corrections and/or a $250-$1,000 fine. While this can be serious enough, the crime will become a class 5 felony if force or threat of force is proven to have been used to keep the other person where they are. If it is proven that you kept someone confined for 12 or more hours, it will also be charged as a class 5 felony, punishable by 1-3 years in prison and a fine between $1,000 and $100,000.
Is False Imprisonment the Same Thing as Kidnapping in Arapahoe County?
No. While they maintain some similarities, such as holding someone against their will, the main difference is the motive of the holding. While kidnapping is typically done for profit, trade, or coercion, False Imprisonment may be something as simple as closing a door to not let someone leave during an argument. If you seized and carried someone from one place to another against their will, you will be facing kidnapping charges.
Read more about the differences between false imprisonment and kidnapping.
What Should I Do if Charged With False Imprisonment in Adams County?
If you are contacted by a police officer about charges of false imprisonment, it is important that you politely exercise your right to remain silent, even if you know that the charges are false or exaggerated. Talking with police in Adams County can help them make a case against you. Instead, contact an experienced criminal defense attorney at 303-731-0719. Together, we can protect your future.