What Should I Do If I am Charged with Contributing to the Delinquency of a Minor in Denver?
So, you’ve been charged with Contributing to the Delinquency of a Minor in Denver? Are you wondering what to do? Maybe this is your first criminal charge, or perhaps it is a second or subsequent offense. Either way, it’s important to your future that your next steps involve not talking with the police and contacting an experienced criminal defense attorney to set up a free initial consultation or to schedule a jail visit. As a felony offense in Colorado, if you are convicted you can be facing high fines and years in the Colorado Department of Corrections.
What is Considered Contributing to the Delinquency of a Minor in Arapahoe County?
Contributing to the Delinquency of a Minor has such of a broad definition that it can be easy to be charged with this crime in Arapahoe County. If you are believed to have induced, aided, or encouraged a child (anyone under 18) to have broken ANY law in Colorado, an Englewood Police Officer could charge you with Contributing to the Delinquency of a Minor. This includes the minor violating municipal or county ordinance, or even a court order. For example, under Centennial’s Municipal Code, it states that it is unlawful for a minor to be out in public between 11:00pm and 5:00am (midnight for Fridays and Saturdays). It is crazy to think that if you allowed your child to stay out past curfew with their friends, you could be charged with a criminal offense that is charged the same as Vehicular Homicide, Second Degree Kidnapping, and Enticement of a Child (all of which are a class 4 felony depending on the circumstances).
Penalty for Contributing to the Delinquency of a Minor in Douglas County
It does not matter if the child was charged or convicted of the crime. It does not matter if the child was under 10 years of age (a child must be 10 or older to be charged with a crime in Colorado). You can still face charges. In Douglas County cities such as Lone Tree, Parker, and Castle Rock, if you are convicted of Contributing to the Delinquency of a Minor, the penalty can range anywhere from 2 to 6 years in prison, and/or a fine between $2,000 and $500,000. You will also be sentenced to a term of mandatory parole, as with any other criminal conviction in Colorado.
Adams County Defense Lawyer for Contributing to the Delinquency of a Minor
Perhaps you had reasonable belief that the minor was over 18, you were wrongfully accused, or you had no knowledge that your actions would lead to the child committing a crime. If you or your child are contacted by police, be smart, exercise your right to remain silent, and contact a defense lawyer today at 303-731-0719. Together, we can protect your future.