Denver Defense Lawyer for Public Indecency Charges
Earlier this year, two correctional officers from the Colorado Department of Corrections were charged with public indecency after being caught having sex in a parked car outside of a 7-Eleven. Correctional Officers are supposed to have a knowledgable understanding of Colorado’s laws, so it’s a surprise that these two would put themselves in a compromising position, especially in such of a well-lit area. They were found by a Denver Police Officer at 5:30 in the morning (Denver Post). If you are charged with Public Indecency in Colorado, it’s important to have an experienced defense lawyer represent you in court, especially if it is a second or subsequent offense.
What Is Considered Public Indecency In Douglas County?
If you are caught having sex in public, or where it is easy to be viewed by the public, such as in front of an open window that is easily visible, you can be charged with Public Indecency (CRS 18-7-301). You can also face charges if you lewdly fondle or caress someone else in public, or even if you expose your buttox or breasts in public. However, there are some Colorado cities that are changing their rules about public nudity. For example, in Boulder, CO, it is now legal for a woman to be topless in public. So if you get too handsy outside of a bar, and a police officer happens to see or hear about it (as was the situation in this case), you could be facing criminal charges.
Arapahoe County Public Indecency Penalties
In Arapahoe County and throughout Colorado, the charges for Public Indecency can be either a class 1 petty offense or a class 1 misdemeanor, depending on the circumstances. If you have sex in public, expose the intimate parts of your body (not including the genitals), or lewdly fondle or caress another’s body, you could be facing up to 6 months in jail and/or a $500 fine. If you are convicted of exposing your genitals in public in a way that caused affront or alarm to someone, the penalty will be more severe with the possibility of 6 to 18 months in jail and/or a fine up to $5,000.
Criminal Defense Attorney for Public Indecency Charges in
Adams County If you are facing Public Indecency charges in Adams County, our criminal defense lawyers are here to help. Call the law office of O’Malley and Sawyer today at 303-731-0719 to set up a free initial consultation or to schedule a jail visit. Together, we can protect your future.