Arapahoe County Lawyer for Charges of Trespassing
Earlier this week in Arapahoe County, the Denver Broncos’ backup quarterback was arrested. His crime? According to the article by The Denver Post, Chad Kelley was standing outside of a couple’s home, which prompted the couple to call Englewood Police. Before the police arrived, Kelley entered the home and sat down on the couch next to the woman, “mumbling incoherently”. Kelley was hit with a vacuum cleaner tube from behind by the man, and before the police arrived, Kelley had left. According to ESPN, the QB had been “acting up” at a team party and had been asked to leave, prior to trespassing in the couple’s home. Kelley is facing charges of criminal trespass, is out on bond, and has been released from the Denver Broncos.
Definition of First-Degree Criminal Trespass in Adams County
In Adams County and throughout Colorado, Trespassing is divided up into 3 crimes: First, Second, and Third Degree Criminal Trespass. The definition of First Degree Criminal Trespass – C.R.S. 18-4-502 – is this:
“A person commits the crime of first degree criminal trespass if such person knowingly and unlawfully enters or remains in a dwelling of another or if such person enters any motor vehicle with intent to commit a crime therein. First degree criminal trespass is a class 5 felony.”
In contrast, “A person commits the crime of second degree criminal trespass if such person: (a) Unlawfully enters or remains in or upon the premises of another which are enclosed in a manner designed to exclude intruders or are fenced; or (b) Knowingly and unlawfully enters or remains in or upon the common areas of a hotel, motel, condominium, or apartment building; or (c) Knowingly and unlawfully enters or remains in a motor vehicle of another.” (C.R.S. 18-4-503)
Jefferson County Penalty for First Degree Criminal Trespass
In Jefferson County, First Degree Criminal Trespass is a class 5 felony. Charged more harshly than second or third degree criminal trespass, the sentence for a class 5 felony ranges from 1 – 3 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections and a fine between $1,000 to $100,000. Also, as with any other criminal conviction, there will be a term of mandatory parole after release from prison.
Denver Defense Attorney for Trespassing Charges
If you are contacted by police regarding trespassing charges, be smart. Exercise your right to remain silent and contact an experienced Denver defense attorney right away. Our lawyers are available 24/7 – call us today at 303-731-0719 to set up a free initial consultation, or to schedule a jail visit. Together, we can protect your future.