Possession of a Weapon by Previous Offender in Douglas County – Understanding Colorado’s Gun Rights
The US Constitution states that “The right of the people to keep and bear Arms, shall not be infringed”, but in Colorado if you have committed a Felony such as burglary, arson, or first degree assault, you will no longer have the Second Amendment right to possess a weapon. It does not matter if your crime was violent or not, and it does not matter how long it has been since you were convicted or released from prison; Possession of a Weapon by Previous Offender is a serious charge in Douglas County.
What Weapons Are Prohibited Under C.R.S. 18-12-108 Adams County?
In Adams County and throughout Colorado, C.R.S. 18-12-108 prohibits the possession, use, or even carrying of a firearm – “any handgun, automatic, revolver, pistol, rifle, shotgun, or other instrument or device capable or intended to be capable of discharging bullets, cartridges, or other explosive charges” [C.R.S. 18-1-901 (3)(h)]. This means that even if it has been 30 years since you were charged with a felony for embezzlement, you cannot use your friend’s rifle on a hunting trip, even once.
Arapahoe County Penalty for Possession of a Weapon by Previous Offender
The penalty for Possession of a Weapon by Previous Offender in Arapahoe County could be just as severe as your initial crime. If you violate this law, you can be charged with a class 6 felony, meaning anywhere from a year to 18 months in prison and a fine between $1,000 and $100,000. If the weapon is considered a “dangerous weapon” (C.R.S. 18-12-102 (1) defines this as a firearm silencer, machine gun, short shotgun, short rifle, or ballistic knife), then it becomes a class 5 felony. A class 5 felony is punishable by one to three years in prison and also a fine between $1,000 and $100,000.
Jefferson County Defense Lawyer for Possession of a Weapon by Previous Offender
If you had a prior conviction for a felony, were caught with a firearm, and are now facing charges for Possession of a Weapon by Previous Offender in Jefferson County, be smart. Exercise your right to remain silent, and contact an experienced criminal defense lawyer at 303-731-0719. Together, we can protect your future.
Read more about Possession of a Weapon by Previous Offender.