Adams County, Colorado, Unlawful Sexual Contact Charges
If a man or woman in Adams County subjects anyone to sexual contact without their consent, they can be charged with Unlawful Sexual Contact. What does this mean? It means that unwanted sexual advances will land you in hot water with the Thornton Police and could mean a future of Sex Offender Registration and Sex Offender Treatment if you are convicted. I’m reminded of a video surveillance clip I saw recently of a waitress in a restaurant. As she organizes menus, a man walks by and gropes her butt. He chose the wrong person to mess with, as the waitress grabbed him by the collar as he walked away, and forces him roughly into a chair.
Definition of Unlawful Sexual Contact Law in Denver – C.R.S. 18-3-404
This news article says that the man was charged with sexual battery (Georgia’s comparable law to Colorado’s Unlawful Sexual Contact law). I’m sure he was quickly searching for an experienced defense attorney, as a conviction can be life-altering. In Denver, Colorado, the definition of Unlawful Sexual Contact states that “any actor who knowingly subjects a victim to any sexual contact commits unlawful sexual contact if one or more of these are true:
- The actor knows that the victim does not consent
- The actor knows that the victim is incapable of appraising the nature of the victim’s conduct; or
- The victim is physically helpless and the actor knows that the victim is physically helpless and the victim has not consented; or
- The actor has substantially impaired the victim’s power to appraise or control the victim’s conduct by employing, without the victim’s consent, any drug, intoxicant, or other means for the purpose of causing submission; or
- The victim is in custody of law enforcement or detained in a hospital or other institution and the actor has supervisory or disciplinary authority over the victim and uses this position of authority, unless incident to a lawful search, to coerce the victim to submit; or
- The actor engages in treatment or examination of a victim for other than bona fide medical purposes or in a manner substantially inconsistent with reasonable medical practices.” (CRS 18-3-404)
Penalty for Unlawful Sexual Contact in Douglas County
If you slapped someone playfully on the butt in Douglas County, you could be charged with Unlawful Sexual Contact. Typically a class 1 misdemeanor, as an “extraordinary risk crime” it is subject to a modified sentencing range, meaning in this case that the maximum sentence can be increased by six months. This means that you could be facing up to 2 years in Douglas County Jail and a $5,000 fine.
Lawyer for Arapahoe County Unlawful Sexual Contact
If you are contacted by Arapahoe County Sheriff or Police in regards to Unlawful Sexual Contact charges, be smart, exercise your right to remain silent, and contact our experienced criminal defense lawyers today at 303-731-0719. Together, we can protect your future.