Lawyer for Theft From an At Risk Person Charges in Denver
In Denver, Theft charges can be serious enough on their own to warrant the need for an experienced defense lawyer. However, what you may not realize is that if you stole from an at risk person, you will be facing additional penalties. Last month, a woman in Nulca, Colorado faced felony charges for doing just that. Posing as a caretaker for an elderly man, the woman used the man’s debit card to steal $3,743. Not only does she face charges for Theft and crimes against an at risk person, but also unauthorized use of a financial transaction device.
Sentence for Theft Depends on Amount in Adams County & Arapahoe County
In the case of the Nulca woman, stealing $3,743 would put her in the range of a Class 6 felony The sentence for a Class 6 felony (theft ranging from $2,000 to $4,999.99) in Adams County is 12-18 months in prison and a fine between $1,000 to $100,000. If you steal less than $2,000 you will be charged with a misdemeanor, and if it is a first-time theft it is unlikely that you will have to go to jail, but you will still face fines, probation, and your new criminal record will affect your ability to find a job. A person commits a Class 3 felony if they steal between $100,000 and $999,999. In Arapahoe County this would mean a $3,000-$750,000 fine and 4-12 years in the Arapahoe County Detention Center. (Additional felony Theft amount charges)
Definition of an At Risk Person in Jefferson County
In Jefferson County and throughout Colorado, an At Risk Person is defined as someone who is 70 years of age or older, or someone who possesses a special disability, like:
- Missing a hand or foot or the use of a hand or foot
- Blindness or permanent impairment of vision of both eyes
- Deaf, Mute, Unable to walk, see, hear or speak -Unable to breathe without mechanical assistance, or
- Mentally ill or intellectually / developmentally disabled
Crimes like Theft, Robbery, and Assault are subject to heightened punishment if the victim is an At-Risk person.
Douglas County Defense Attorney for Theft Charges
If you are facing charges for Theft in Douglas County or any crime against an At Risk Person, be smart. Exercise your right to remain silent and contact the experienced theft attorneys at 303-731-0719. Together, we can protect your future.