Juvenile Theft of Pickup Truck in Colorado Springs
Two nights ago in El Paso County, Colorado Springs, a group of teens were arrested after stealing a pickup truck, refusing to pull over for officers, and eventually fleeing on foot. Juveniles often do not realize the severity of these crimes that seem fun at the time, but will end with severe penalties. One night’s joyride could mean trouble getting into college, finding housing, and obtaining a job later in life. This is why it is so important that if your child is facing theft charges, that you hire an experienced lawyer to help protect their future.
What is the Definition of Aggravated Motor Vehicle Theft in Jefferson County?
The Definition of Aggravated Motor Vehicle Theft provides that the crime has been committed in the first degree if the person “knowingly obtains or exercises control over the motor vehicle of another without authorization or by threat or deception” AND commits one or more of the following:
- Retains possession or control of the motor vehicle for more than twenty-four hours
- Attempts to alter or disguise or alters or disguises the appearance of the motor vehicle
- Attempts to alter or remove or alters or removes the vehicle identification number
- Uses the motor vehicle in the commission of a crime other than a traffic offense
- Causes five hundred dollars or more property damage, including but not limited to property damage to the motor vehicle involved, in the course of obtaining control over or in the exercise of control of the motor vehicle
- Causes bodily injury to another person while he or she is in the exercise of control of the motor vehicle
- Removes the motor vehicle from this state for a period of time in excess of twelve hours
- Unlawfully attaches or otherwise displays in or upon the motor vehicle license plates other than those officially issued for the motor vehicle.
What is the Penalty for Aggravated Motor Vehicle Theft in Douglas County?
In Douglas County, Aggravated Motor Vehicle Theft in the first degree is a class 5 felony if the value of the motor vehicle is less than $20,000. If the car is valued between $20,000 and $100,000, it becomes a class 4 felony. A class 5 felony conviction can result in jail time between 1-3 years and a fine between $1,000 and $100,000.
Should I Hire an Attorney for Motor Vehicle Theft in Arapahoe County?
Yes. You should absolutely hire a defense attorney if you are being charged with Motor Vehicle Theft in Arapahoe County. Without a lawyer, the district attorney can and will take advantage of you. Don’t let your future be up to chance, an angry judge, or a misinformed jury. Be smart, exercise your right to remain silent, and call an experienced defense attorney today at 303-731-0719. Together, we can protect your future.