Douglas County & Arapahoe County Charges of Public Indecency
Have you ever gotten away with having sex in a car? If so, you’re lucky. One nosy onlooker or a passing Douglas County Police Officer, and you may be facing Public Indecency charges. While you or your significant other may not find anything wrong with this, Public Indecency falls under Colorado Offenses Relating to Morals and others may not like to witness, or have their children witness, excessive PDA. A crime similar to Indecent Exposure, Public Indecency is not something you want to have on your record in Arapahoe County.
Definition of Public Indecency in Adams County, Colorado
In Adams County and throughout Colorado, the Definition of Public Indecency provides that “any person who performs any of the following in a public place or where the conduct may reasonably be expected to be viewed by members of the public commits public indecency:
- An act of sexual intercourse; or
- A lewd exposure of an intimate part as defined by section 18-3-401 (2) of the body, not including the genitals, done with intent to arouse or to satisfy the sexual desire of any person; or
- A lewd fondling or caress of the body of another person; or
- A knowing exposure of the person’s genitals to the view of a person under circumstances in which such conduct is likely to cause affront or alarm to the other person.” (C.R.S. 18-7-301).
Jefferson County Penalty for Public Indecency
If you are charged with Public Indecency in Jefferson County, you are facing a class 1 petty offense. A class 1 petty offense has a maximum penalty of a $500 fine, 6 months in jail, or even both. If you knowingly expose your genitals to the view of a person under circumstances in which your conduct is likely to cause affront or alarm to the other person after already having been convicted of this before, you face a class 1 misdemeanor – $500-$5,000 fine, 6-18 months in jail, or both.
Repeat Public Indecency Charges in Denver, Colorado
If you or a loved one is facing repeat charges for Public Indecency, or dealing with the crime for the first time, our experienced Denver sex crimes Lawyers are here to help. If contacted by police, be smart. Exercise your right to remain silent and call us at 303-731-0719. Together, we can protect your future.