Charged With A Crime? It Doesn’t Mean You’re Guilty.

Shoplifting is Theft: Prevent a Criminal Record in Arapahoe County and Aurora

| Jan 20, 2018 | Theft |

shoplifting-and-theft-charges-Denver-Colorado-Lawyer.jpg

Theft by Shoplifting – Lawyer for Aurora, Littleton and Lone Tree

Many people would never steal something from someone’s house or car, but they see Shoplifting as something small like a parking ticket or speeding. Across Lone Tree, Littleton and Aurora, police charge this crime as a misdemeanor or felony theft. Yes, you can go to prison for Shoplifting.

Shoplifting Charges Filed in Castle Rock Municipal Court, County Court or Douglas County District Court

Separate courts handle different types of theft crimes, depending on the total dollar amount of the items stolen. Police prefer to use their city’s municipal court for revenue, if possible. But there are dollar limitations by police and city policy. Generally speaking, if you are accused of Shoplifting items valued at under $1,000, you will be charged in the Castle Rock Municipal Court, or the Douglas County Court. Once the property’s theft value exceeds $999, you will be charged in the Douglas County District Court, and face a felony. Information on Theft Charge.

How Shoplifting Turns into Robbery in Denver – a Defense Lawyer Explains

No one can predict how a Denver Shoplifting crime will turn out. If a security guard or employee tries to stop them and there is even a small struggle for the item or escape, Robbery can be charged. Robbery is a Class 4 felony, C.R.S. 18-4-301. Robbery’s definition is: “knowingly taking anything of value from the person or presence of another by the use of force, threats or intimidation.” With a knife or gun involved, it becomes a crime of violence, with mandatory prison time. A theft from Dollar Tree can quickly become a mandatory prison crime.

Civil Court Suits for Theft by Shoplifting in Lakewood, Arvada and Wheat Ridge

Colorado has a little known law at C.R.S. 13-21-107.5, which provides an automatic, civil fine against shoplifters. Lakewood, Arvada and Wheat Ridge businesses are allowed to collect actual damages, plus a $100 to $250 penalty from the shoplifter or their parents. Larger stores have departments devoted to collecting this money.

Criminal Record from Shoplifting – Sealing, Expungement or Permanent Record?

You could get a permanent criminal record from shoplifting, depending on how the crime is charged. A felony record is permanent, while many misdemeanor records can eventually be sealed. Most Shoplifting theft crimes require a criminal record for at least a year and often more. Judges in Westminster, Thornton and Broomfield treat stealing from retailers as a serious problem, and impose a criminal record from the theft. This will affect getting a job, housing or even admission to school or the military.

Call our Shoplifting lawyers at 303-731-0719 today. Together, we can protect your future.