Attorney for Kidnapping Charges in Douglas County and Denver
Kidnapping in Castle Rock and Parker is not like it is portrayed in the movies. Charges are made anytime someone moves another from one spot to another. We have even seen this charge brought during a fight between husband and wife when he picks her up and moves her from one room to another. In other cases, it comes up in child custody disputes. Let’s take a look at the definition of 2nd Degree Kidnapping in Denver and Douglas County, Colorado. More information on Kidnapping.
Definition of Second Degree Kidnapping | Jefferson County Kidnapping Attorney
The Colorado definition of 2nd Degree Kidnapping, C.R.S. 18-3-302, is:
1) Any person who knowingly seizes and carries any person from one place to another, without his consent and without lawful justification, commits second degree kidnapping.
2) Any person who takes, entices, or decoys away any child not his own under the age of eighteen years with intent to keep or conceal the child from his parent or guardian or with intent to sell, trade, or barter such child for consideration, commits second degree kidnapping.
As you can see, Kidnaping charges might be made if a parent takes a child from another parent, as part of a child custody case, or in a domestic violence case.
Kidnapped in Adams County, Colorado – 2nd Degree Kidnapping Attorney
Second Degree Kidnapping can be a class 2 felony, a class 3 felony, or a class 4 felony in Adams County, Northglenn, Thornton and Brighton:
|Class of Felony Kidnapping||Details of the Kidnapping||Sentence Range for Kidnapping|
|2nd Degree Kidnapping as a Class 2 felony||-Kidnapped person is a victim of a sexual offense-Kidnapped person is a victim of robbery||16 – 48 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections, and$5,000 – $1,000,000 fines|
|Second Degree Kidnapping as a Class 3 felony||-A deadly weapon or an article that looks like a gun or deadly weapon is used in the kidnapping-Intent of the kidnapping is to sell, trade, or barter the victim
-The kidnapper says he has a deadly weapon or gun (even if he does not)
|10-32 years in the Department of Corrections, and $3,000 – $750,000 fines|
|Second Degree Kidnapping as a Class 4 felony (the lowest)||When none of the circumstances above exist||5 – 16 years in DOC, and$2,000 – $500,000 fines|
Never speak with police if you are being investigated for Second Degree Kidnapping. Always be smart, exercise your right to remain silent, and contact Denver’s best kidnapping attorneys at 303-731-0719. Together, we can protect your future.