Charged With A Crime? It Doesn’t Mean You’re Guilty.

Jefferson County Lawyer for Criminal Mischief Charges

| Nov 8, 2017 | Criminal Mischief |

Criminal Mischief in Arapahoe County and Jefferson County, Colorado | Felony and Misdemeanor Crimes

When you commit the crime of Criminal Mischief in Arapahoe County and Jefferson County, it is much like the crime of theft: you’ve taken something from another. Here is how that works with a simple example: Prior to the “keying” of a car, the door is worth $2,000. After it has been keyed, it is worth $1,500, and needs $500 of repair work to restore it to full value. Essentially, the victim has lost $500 in value to the door. The law calls this “damage” to an item – and the criminal charge is based on the value of damage, or lost value.  Arapahoe County Criminal Mischief Attorney.

The Definition of Criminal Mischief in Douglas County, Colorado

Criminal Mischief, located at C.R.S. 18-4-501, has the following definition:

A person commits criminal mischief when he or she knowingly damages the real or personal property of one or more other persons, including property owned by the person jointly with another person or property owned by the person in which another person has a possessory or proprietary interest, in the course of a single criminal episode.

Criminal Mischief Dollar Values in Denver, Colorado

Class of Criminal Mischief in Denver Total Damage of Property
Felony Criminal Mischief
Class 2 Felony Criminal Mischief $1,000,000 or more
Class 3 Felony Criminal Mischief $100,000 to $999,999
Class 4 Felony Criminal Mischief $20,000 to $99,999
Class 5 Felony Criminal Mischief $5,000 to $19,999
Class 6 Felony Criminal Mischief $1,000 to $4,999
Misdemeanor Criminal Mischief
Class 1 Misdemeanor Criminal Mischief $750 to $999
Class 2 Misdemeanor Criminal Mischief $300 to $749
Class 3 Misdemeanor Criminal Mischief Less than $300

Adams County Sentencing Penalties for Criminal Mischief

Prison time from 1 – 24 years is possible following a Criminal Mischief felony conviction in Adams County. For misdemeanor crimes, a sentence to the Adams County Jail ranges from 6 – 18 months.

If you are charged with Criminal Mischief in Denver, be smart, exercise your