Definition of Theft in Jefferson and Arapahoe County Colorado
The definition of Theft in Jefferson County, Colorado is located at C.R.S. 18-4-401. It states:
Theft occurs when a person “knowingly obtains, retains, or exercises control over anything of value of another without authorization or by threat or deception; or receives, loans money by pawn or pledge on, or disposes of anything of value or belonging to another that he or she knows or believes to have been stolen, and:
Intends to deprive the other person permanently of the use or benefit of the thing of value.
This is the most common subsection of the theft statute in Arapahoe County and all of Colorado. Felony Theft.
Possible Sentence for a Theft Charge in Douglas County and Adams County
The class of charge, and whether a petty offense, misdemeanor or felony, is driven by the total dollar value of the item taken.
Misdemeanor and Petty Theft Crimes:
|Class 1 Petty Theft Offense||Class 3 Misdemeanor Theft||Class 2 Misdemeanor Theft||Class 1 Misdemeanor Theft|
|Loss PriceRange||Less than $50||$50 to $299||$300 to $749||$750 to $1,999|
|MaximumPenalty||*$500 fine*6 months jail||*$750 fine*6 months jail||*$1,000 fine*12 months jail||*$5,000*18 months jail|
Felony Theft Crimes:
|Class 6 Felony Theft||Class 5 Felony Theft||Class 4 Felony Theft||Class 3 Felony Theft||Class 2 Felony Theft|
|Loss Price Range||$2,000 to $4,999||$5,000 to $19,999||$20,000 to $99,999||$100,000 to $999,999||$1,000,000 or more|
|Maximum Penalty||*$100,000 fine*18 months prison||*$100,000 fine*3 years prison||*$500,000 fine*6 years prison||$750,000 fine*12 years prison||*$1,000,000 fine*24 years prison|
Theft Dollar Amount Total in Denver, Colorado
When someone is caught stealing an item or items, the total dollar amount is added up and the loss is classified based on this amount. Anything under $2,000 is a misdemeanor and anything over this amount is a felony. A felony conviction is much more severe due to the impact on someone’s employment and housing.
We have seen many cases where the police use the new purchase price of the item taken, and not the used value of the item, as is. This complicates the process and overstates restitution amounts. A ten year old bicycle, purchased new for $2,500, should not be considered to be worth $2,500 when taken. Depreciation must be taken into account, along with replacement value. Fort Collins Theft Attorney.
If you are accused of Theft in Denver or Mineral County, call a criminal defense lawyer who will care about you at 303-731-0719, today. Together, we can protect your future.