Arapahoe County Careless Driving Charges Attorney
Traffic crimes are generally minor matters like speeding or running a stop sign. Yet sometimes, they become really significant and can involve the loss of your driver’s license. This can have a huge impact on your life with the inability to drive to work, school or medical appointments. Arapahoe County Careless Driving is one of those charges which can really impact your life. Fort Collins, Colorado, Careless Driving.
Definition of Careless Driving in Jefferson County, Colorado – C.R.S. 42-4-1402
The definition of Careless Driving is:
A person who drives a motor vehicle, bicycle, electrical assisted bicycle, or low-power scooter in a careless and imprudent manner, without due regard for the width, grade, curves, corners, traffic, and use of the streets and highways and all other attendant circumstances, is guilty of careless driving.
Generally speaking, Careless Driving is a four point violation, and is a Class 2 misdemeanor traffic offense. The possible penalty is 10 to 90 days in the Jefferson County Jail, and $150 – $300 in fines. This is the charge if there are no injuries to anyone and no one dies. After this general definition, let’s look at a couple of varieties which steepen the penalty. More on Careless Driving.
Careless Driving With Injury in Douglas County and Castle Rock
When someone is injured in a Douglas County Court careless driving case, the stakes greatly increase. Jail is possible, you can lose your license, and you can get sued for money damages. Unlike property damage alone, a person’s losses can be huge and without reasonable limit with personal injury. What is a strained back worth? What is a brain injury worth? While whiplash may seem speculative, it can be real and real expensive for the driver of a car. Careless Driving with Bodily Injury is a class one traffic offense.
Careless Driving and the Death of Another Person in Denver and Adams County – The Ultimate Loss
When another person’s death arises from your Careless Driving in Denver and Adams County, you will be charged with a class one traffic offense, and your license gets hit with 12 points – enough to lose it. The Department of Motor Vehicles will see these 12 points and revoke your Colorado license. Plus, it is very common for a Wrongful Death action to be filed against you in civil court.
Our Careless Driving lawyers are ready to defend you, your license and your financial future. When injury or death result from a car accident, never speak to the police about your case. Instead, call our traffic attorneys at 303-731-0719. Together, we can protect your future.