Carrying a Concealed Weapon in Arapahoe County
You would be surprised how many people accidently carry a concealed weapon in violation of Colorado law. For example, did you know that carrying a knife in your pocket in Arapahoe County violates Colorado’s concealed carry law? How about having a gun or firearm in a coat pocket or purse? There are many variations of ways to violate this law. Let’s study it in more detail, so you can live within the law. Real Example of Unlawfully Carrying a Concealed Weapon.
Douglas County’s Unlawfully Carrying a Concealed Weapon Law Definition – Possession of a Concealed Weapon
Unlawfully Carrying a Concealed Weapon, C.R.S. 18-12-105, is defined in Douglas County as:
A person commits a class 2 misdemeanor if such person knowingly and unlawfully:
a) Carries a knife concealed on or about his or her person; or
b) Carries a firearm concealed on or about his or her person; or
c) Without legal authority, carries, brings, or has in such person’s possession a firearm or any explosive, incendiary, or other dangerous device on the property of or within any building in which the chambers, galleries, or offices of the general assembly, or either house thereof, are located, or in which a legislative hearing or meeting is being or is to be conducted, or in which the official office of any member, officer, or employee of the general assembly is located.
Possesion of a Concealed Weapon can result in a misdemeanor charge. For this reason, it is good to know where you can legally carry, and avoid other locations.
Exceptions Where it is Legal to Carry a Concealed Weapon in Denver and Jefferson County
While there are many unspecified locations where it is unlawful to carry a concealed weapon, there is a list where it is legal to Possess a Concealed Weapon in Jefferson County and across Denver. Here is where it is legal:
· When in your own dwelling (house or apartment) or business; or
· When you are in a private car or other form of transportation and the weapon is for the protection of property while traveling (know this language in case you are questioned why you have the weapon); or
· If you have a valid permit to carry a concealed weapon; or
· When the person carrying the weapon is a police officer and he is carrying in conformance of the employment policy; or
· If the person carrying is a pretrial services officer or probation officer on duty.
What is the Sentence / Penalty in Adams County and Boulder for Possessing or Unlawfully Carrying a Concealed Weapon?
As a class 2 misdemeanor, Unlawfully Carrying a Concealed Weapon in Boulder and Adams County carries a possible sentence of:
· Adams County Jail time of 3 to 12 months
· Up to $1,000 in fines
Never speak with police if you are stopped for Possession or Unlawfully Carrying a Concealed Weapon in Colorado. They are looking for evidence to convict you. No officer tries to find reasons NOT to arrest you. They get paid based on results, not justice. Come in for a free consultation attorney meeting. You can reach our full-time criminal defense lawyers at 303-731-0719. Together, we can protect your future.
Image Credit: Pixabay – Ibropalic