How Many Years Sentence in Jail or Prison in Denver and Jefferson County, Colorado
Our criminal defense lawyers are often asked about the possible sentence length for a crime in Colorado. The length of any Denver County Jail sentence or Jefferson County Jail sentence, can be complicated. The same goes for felony crimes where Sentencing to the Colorado Department of Corrections is possible. The starting point for determining or estimating any sentence length, is to decide whether the case is a felony or misdemeanor, and then to learn the class of the felony or misdemeanor.
Felony or Misdemeanor Sentence Possible in Douglas County – How Long Should You Expect?
Douglas County Courts are required to follow what is called a presumptive range of sentencing for felony cases and misdemeanor cases. These are the normal ranges for sentences given by the court. Each class of cases has their own presumptive range. Let’s look at those which are used by Colorado Courts.
· Class 1 Felony Sentence Range is Life to Death in the Colorado Department of Corrections
· Class 2 Felony Sentence Range is 8 to 24 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections
· Class 3 Felony Sentence Range is 4 to 12 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections
· Class 4 Felony Sentence Range is 2 to 6 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections
· Class 5 Felony Sentence Range is 1 to 3 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections
· Class 6 Felony Sentence Range is 1 to 18 months in the Colorado Department of Corrections
· Class 1 Misdemeanor Sentence Range is 6 to 18 months in the Douglas County Jail
· Class 2 Misdemeanor Sentence Range is 3 to 12 months in the Douglas County Jail
· Class 3 Misdemeanor Sentence Range is $50 to 6 months in the Douglas County Jail
Extraordinary Risk Crimes Sentence in Jefferson County, and the Jefferson County Jail in Colorado
Some crimes do not fall within the normal presumptive sentence ranges because Colorado lawmakers think those crimes are too serious. So, the law authorizes a longer period of imprisonment for those special crimes. Here is what you may be looking at if your crime has been classified as an extraordinary risk crime:
· Class 3 Extraordinary Risk Crime Sentence Range is 4 to 16 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections
· Class 4 Extraordinary Risk Crime Sentence Range is 2 to 8 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections
· Class 5 Extraordinary Risk Crime Sentence Range is 1 to 4 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections
· Class 6 Extraordinary Risk Crime Sentence Range is 1 to 2 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections
· Class 1 Misdemeanor Extraordinary Risk Sentence Range is 6 to 24 months in the Douglas County Jail
Examples of crimes classified as extraordinary risk crimes include aggravated robbery, child abuse, unlawful distribution or manufacturing or possession with intent to sell a controlled substance, any crime of violence, stalking, human trafficking, human trafficking for involuntary servitude, human trafficking for sexual servitude, assault in the second degree involving strangulation and felony invasion of privacy for sexual gratification.
Sexual Assault Indeterminate Sentences in Broomfield and Boulder: Lifetime Imprisonment
Many sexual assault and child sex cases bypass the traditional sentence maximums and permit a judge to impose an indeterminate sentence. This means that at sentencing the judge can give a minimum sentence, but not a maximum (there is none). For example, the judge must sentence someone to 4 years to life, or 6 years to life, or 14 years to life. The Colorado Parole Board decides when a person gets out – not the judge. Indeterminate means life – no end date is specified for a given sentence. This leaves the accused person and their family with high uncertainty about how long their loved one will be apart from them.
Some of the crimes which have indeterminate sentences include:
· Sexual assault
· Felony unlawful sexual contact
· Sexual assault on a child + sexual assault on a child position of trust
· Aggravated sexual assault on a client by a psychotherapist
· Enticement of a child
· Aggravated incest
· Patronizing a prostituted child
· Class 4 felony internet luring of a child
· Internet sexual exploitation of a child
· Criminal attempt, conspiracy or solicitation to commit any of the offenses listed above
How Long is Probation for a Felony or Misdemeanor in Arapahoe County, Colorado?
Generally speaking, courts impose probation sentences in Arapahoe County which are within the presumptive ranges of a possible sentence to imprisonment or jail. But, they are not required to stay within these ranges. There is actually no limit to a possible probation sentence for a felony, and a five year limit for a misdemeanor. For a class 1 felony, probation is not possible. For a petty offense, probation is not possible. In addition, a judge may give up to 90 days in the Arapahoe County Jail for a felony probation sentence, two years of work release for a felony probation sentence, or 60 days in the Arapahoe County Jail for a misdemeanor probation sentence.
Sentencing generally falls within the parameters listed above. There are special crimes which do not fall within these ranges, such as some sexual crimes. Many crimes have unique sentence ranges and possibilities. Call the best sentencing lawyers at 303-731-0719, for an appointment to meet and talk about your specific case. There is no cost, and we are always glad to talk. Never give a statement to police about your case. Together, we can protect your future.
Image Credit: FreeDigitalPhotos.net – Kittisak