Charged With A Crime? It Doesn’t Mean You’re Guilty.

Disorderly Conduct, 18-9-106 – Let Denver Metro Area Best Criminal Defense Attorneys Fight for You

| Feb 22, 2017 | Disorderly Conduct |

What is Disorderly Conduct in Arapahoe County?

Yell-Disorderly-Conduct.jpg

This is a great question because the crime of Disorderly Conduct is defined differently in every state. I recently read a Denver Post article where a Highlands Ranch man was charged with Disorderly Conduct in an Alaskan airport for jokingly saying that a bomb was in his friend’s luggage. This is probably not what he would have been charged with at Denver International Airport. There are five basic ways a person is charged with Disorderly Conduct, C.R.S. 18-9-106, in Denver or Arapahoe County, or anywhere across Colorado. They include; making an offensive utterance or gesture in a public place to incite a breach of the peace, by making unreasonable noise in a public place, by fighting, by discharging a firearm in a public place, or by displaying a firearm or deadly weapon to cause alarm.

How Serious is a Disorderly Conduct Conviction in Douglas County?

Disorderly Conduct charges can be filed in Parker Municipal Court or in Douglas County Court with different levels of severity depending on the circumstances. If the allegation is for making a course gesture, obscene language, or making unreasonable noise, it will be filed as a class 1 petty offense. If the charge is for fighting, it will be filed as a class 3 misdemeanor. And if the charges are for either the discharge of a firearm or for displaying a deadly weapon in order to cause alarm, it will be filed as a class 1 misdemeanor. Petty offenses and misdemeanor crimes are less serious crimes than felonies, but they can have harmful life changing impacts.

What Can Happen To Me if I am Convicted of Disorderly Conduct in Adams County?

Colorado statutes limit penalties by class of crime. If convicted of a class 1 petty offense in Brighton Municipal Court, the maximum penalty is $500.00 and 6 months in jail. If convicted of a class 3 misdemeanor the maximum penalty is $750.00 and 6 months in jail. If convicted of a class 1 misdemeanor in the Adams County Court, the maximum penalty is $5,000.00 and 18 months in jail. A conviction for Disorderly Conduct is not subject to time in prison. However, court sentences are not the only things a person should be concerned about. The temporary setback a person faces from court imposed sentences are often small compared to the repercussions from having a criminal record. That is why we at O’Malley Law Office, P.C. look beyond the immediate impact of a conviction and why we strive to get the best possible outcome for your case.

O’Malley Law Office: Let Our Experience Help You

If you or someone you love has been arrested or charged with Disorderly Conduct, you need someone that will listen to your side of the story. There are consequences which go beyond the petty offense or misdemeanor record that Disorderly Conduct brings, so let the top Criminal Defense Attorneys in Colorado do the fighting for you. Be smart and exercise your right to remain silent, and call us at 303-731-0719. Together we can protect your future.

Image Credit: FreeDigitalPhotos.net – stockimages