Restraining Order Attorneys in Denver | Protection Orders in Douglas County – Two Types Nearly the Same
Two types of protection orders exist in Denver and Douglas County: criminal mandatory protection order, C.R.S. 18-1-1001, and civil protection order, C.R.S. 13-14-106. They are very similar. The punishment for violating a protection order is dependent on the type of restraining order that was in place. These orders operate to limit a person’s contact with certain other people; they can limit consumption of alcohol, prohibit the use / possess / purchase a firearm, and they have various other provisions which may inconvenience you. Read about Protection Orders in Domestic Violence Cases.
Criminal Protection Orders in Arapahoe County, Colorado Courts | How to Dismiss and Modify a Protection Order
A mandatory protection order, MPO, is issued pursuant to the Colorado Revised Statutes and is given to anyone charged with a Title 18 violation. This covers nearly every criminal offense. An MPO will be issued to a person charged with violating laws including Theft, Sexual Assault on a Child, Internet Sexual Exploitation of a Child, and Menacing in Aurora, Centennial, Littleton and all of Arapahoe County. Mandatory protection orders will be vacated at the end of the case. The court will cancel the Protection Order when the case is dismissed, the person is completely released from incarceration, or when their probation ends (whichever is longer). The court where the case is charged has the ultimate authority to modify the MPO at any time. The court will only modify a protection order when it feels it is safe to do so: safe to the alleged victim and safe for the reputation of the court.
Civil Protection Orders in Jefferson and Gilpin County – These Do Not Automatically Get Dismissed
Civil protection orders are governed by C.R.S. 13-14-106. They can last for the restrained person’s entire life. They are often referred to as either a Temporary Protection Order (TPO) or a Permanent Protection Order (PPO). These orders are issued by a judge in Jefferson and Gilpin County when a person is found to be a threat to another person. They are more difficult to get dismissed or modified. There is usually a waiting period after a permanent restraining order has been given, until a modification can be requested. In most cases, having the alleged victim, or the person who benefits from the order, favoring the request, is very helpful (but not essential).
Punishments for Violating a Restraining Order or Protection Order in Adams and Weld County
If a Mandatory Protection Order, Restraining Order or a Permanent Protection Order exists and is restraining you from contacting another person, you could be charged with a crime if you violate the terms of that order. The potential punishment is dependent on the type of restraining order that was violated. If someone has charged you with violating a criminal protection order or restraining order, then you will be facing a class 1 Misdemeanor. This means that the maximum punishment could be up to 18 months in jail and up to a $5,000.00 fine. If it is alleged to be a violation of a civil protection order, then you will be dealing with a class 2 misdemeanor. The maximum punishment for that level of crime is up to 1 year in jail and up to a $1,000.00 fine.
If you or a loved one has been served with a protection order, you must act quickly, because there is a limited time period to contest the order being made permanent. Never talk about the case with police or the person on the protection order. Be smart and contact us at 303-731-0719. Together, we can protect your future.
Image Credit: FreeDigitalPhotos.net – Naypong