Charged With A Crime? It Doesn’t Mean You’re Guilty.

Persistent Drunk Driver Denver Attorney – Definition of Persistent Drunk Driver in Colorado

| Sep 26, 2016 | Driving Under the Influence |

Persistent-Drunk-Driver-3.jpg
Persistent Drunk Driver Lawyer in Denver DUI Cases – Many Ways to Get This Label

We all think of a repeat drunk driver when we hear the words Persistent Drunk Driver in a Driving Under the Influence case. Surprisingly, you can get this label for your first DUI. While Persistent Drunk Driver can refer to repeat offenders, it can also be given by DMV (the Department of Motor Vehicles) when your blood alcohol level is .150 or more.

Definition of Persistent Drunk Driver in Jefferson County and Adams County, Colorado

There are several ways to obtain the designation of Persistent Drunk Driver in Jefferson County and Adams County. Let’s review these for the common DUI case:

  • Have a BAC of .150 or more from a breath test or a blood test,
  • Be convicted or have your driver’s license revoked for 2 or more alcohol related driving convictions,
  • Get caught driving after your license has been placed under restraint, revocation or suspension for an alcohol related driving offense,
  • Refuse to take a blood, saliva or urine test as required by law for a suspected alcohol or drug driving offense, including DUI, DWAI, vehicular assault, vehicular homicide.

Read more on Persistent Drunk Drivers.

Consequences for Getting a Persistent Drunk Driver Conviction in Douglas County or Arapahoe County

If you are labeled a Persistent Drunk Driver (PDD) in a Douglas County or Arapahoe County driving under the influence case, it will makes things a little tougher with DMV. Here are some of the requirements you will face:

  • A level II alcohol education course,
  • An interlock device on your car for at least 2 years,
  • An interlock restricted driver’s license.

Effect of a .20 or Greater High BAC on your Denver Driver’s License

If your blood alcohol level (BAC) is .20 or greater in a driving under the influence case, you are required to serve at least 10 days in the Denver County Jail (possibly with work release). This can greatly affect your life, so be sure to have a DUI attorney study your case and possible other resolutions.

EtG (Ethyl Glucuronide) New Test for Alcohol Use in Colorado DUI or Driving Under the Influence

A newly popular Denver urine test, used by drug-testing laboratories to find evidence of alcohol consumption, may be so inaccurate that it is not a reliable measuring device. The EtG (Ethyl Glucuronide) test is so sensitive it cannot distinguish between real alcohol consumption and someone’s exposure to trace amounts of alcohol found in several household / personal hygiene products.

The EtG test is very sensitive for the presence of any alcohol, even at low-levels, and can detect alcohol in the urine several days after consumption. Due to its sensitivity though, it can produce a positive test for ethyl glucuronide after someone has used a product containing alcohol. False positives can result from things like cosmetics, foods, hand sanitizers, and even medications, which contain small amounts of alcohol. It is thought that people can even test positive for EtG after exposure to laundry detergent, hair spray, aftershave and antiperspirants. The reality is that hundreds of products contain ethanol.

EtG Positive – How DUI Defense Attorneys Use this Test to Help Prove Your Innocence

The one positive we can highlight is that EtG false negatives can still exonerate you from claims that you consumed alcohol. Really. You can prove you are innocent. If you get a negative from this test, even after a few days, you can scientifically establish that no alcohol consumption occurred. This is just another tool we can use to prove your innocence against claims by a probation officer, cop or angry ex that you were drunk on a particular day.  Imagine an ex-girlfriend who says you drank while on probation for a DUI.  She tries to get you in trouble with your probation officers.  This test can save your bacon – and prove she is a liar.

Our DUI defense attorneys have many tools to help you refute charges of PDD – Persistent Drunk Driver and alcohol use. So, don’t speak with Police and don’t participate in voluntary roadside maneuvers. Instead, call our attorneys 24/7 at 303-731-0719. We can help you stay out of jail.  Together, we can protect your future.

Image Credit: Pixabay – alles