Theft cases under Colorado law, C.R.S. 18-4-401, have taken on a new look over the past year. Our Legislature recently adapted Colorado’s Theft Laws by providing a much broader punishment sliding scale. Where past law only allowed four different classes of punishment, the Legislature expanded the range to nine. Theft is now chargeable as a Petty Offense all the way up to a class 2 Felony for serious embezzlement cases.
What Evidence Will the District Attorney Use Against You
The District Attorneys in Denver, Adams, and Douglas County will try to prove their case using broad evidence. Theft evidence in cases across the state tends to include forensic computer data, video, expert accountants and extensive documentation (checks, bank transfer records and receipts). If you are facing charges for stealing something and Colorado police have you on store security video, your case will need to be handled differently than a case where the police are putting pieces of a forensic accounting embezzlement puzzle together separately. Don’t be fooled; simply because you are on video doing something does not mean that you committed Theft. There are several alternative explanations. In other cases, the police in Lakewood, Aurora, and Castle Rock will try and prove you stole by using documents and computer records. With the help of search warrants, they will scour everything in your home or business – including paper and electronic records. When this happens, a criminal attorney will need to pour through the information alongside you to illustrate the weaknesses in the government’s case. You know your business and personal records better than the government ever will.
What is the Punishment for Colorado Theft?
The punishment for Theft in Colorado is based upon the dollar value of the item alleged stolen. For instance, if you are charged with shoplifting because the item is valued at a few dollars, you could be facing a petty offense with the maximum punishment up to a $500.00 fine and 6 months in jail. But, if the value of the item taken is one million dollars or more, you could be looking at a punishment of up to a one million dollar fine and 24 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections prison. Because of the variety in punishment, it is important to speak with the best Theft attorney in Broomfield, Boulder, and El Paso County.
We Will Fight for You Across Colorado
Many attorneys mishandle Theft, Shoplifting, and Petty Theft cases in Yuma, Bent and Crowley County, Colorado courts. Steps in the legal process have to be completed precisely and timely to ensure that your rights will be protected. In other cases where embezzlement is alleged, our defense experts need to examine accounting records or computer hard drives. The criminal defense attorneys at O’Malley Law Office know how to fight against the Government and their shallow assumptions. So, if you or a loved one has been charged with Theft, be smart, exercise your right to remain silent, and call us today at 303-731-0719. Together, we can protect your future.