The High Cost of a DUI or DWAI in Denver
Driving While Ability Impaired, DWAI, and Driving Under the Influence, DUI, charges in Arapahoe, Jefferson, and Douglas County occur frequently and you need a criminal defense lawyer to help. DUI / DWAI convictions are permanent and will forever be associated with your name on job applications, housing applications, insurance records and other opportunities. Since this is so important to your future, always remember the following when confronted with DUI or DWAI charges:
If I am Detained in Lakewood for a DUI, What Should I Do?
The main thing to remember is that the police will ask you to perform roadside maneuvers and blow into a portable breath testing device, PBT; both of which are completely voluntary and should be avoided. No matter the officer’s demeanor or statements to persuade you, these two aspects of a drunk driving stop are not required and the results will only be used against you. Even if you do well with the DUI / DWAI roadside maneuvers, the district attorneys in Douglas, Adams, and Elbert County will still try to convict you.
Which Breath Test Should I Complete in Aurora?
The Arapahoe County Sheriff’s Department and other police agencies will ask you to perform two different Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) tests. The first test is the PBT, as mentioned above. You should always reject this test as the results will not help you. The other test, the Express Consent Test, EC Test, is required under Colorado law. But, you should weigh the consequences of not taking the test and potential benefits. When you refuse to take an EC Test your ability to drive in the state of Colorado through the Department of Motor Vehicles, DMV, will be revoked for a short period – possibly 2 months. If you take the test, your license may be revoked for 1 month if your BAC is 0.08 or above. The benefit is that when the government does not have your BAC level, it is harder for them to win in court.
What Should I Do if I am Charged with Either a DUI or DWAI?
The first thing to do is remain calm. You need to stay focused on what the officer is asking you and what your rights are. Never answer their questions. You have a right to remain silent. The second thing to do is to call our experienced DUI lawyers to begin to work on your case. The sooner that you have competent, effective representation, the better the end result for you will be. The DUI / DWAI laws are complicated and you need an attorney you can trust fighting against the government for you. Read more about Colorado’s Persistent Drunk Driver law – you’ll be surprised who qualifies.
So, if you or a loved one has been charged with a DUI or DWAI in Douglas County or anywhere in Colorado, be smart, exercise your right to remain silent, and contact one of the best defense lawyers at 303-731-0719 right now. Together, we can protect your future.