Charged With A Crime? It Doesn’t Mean You’re Guilty.

Colorado Menacing Charges, C.R.S. 18-3-206 – Denver Attorney

| Jul 5, 2013 | Menacing |

Menacing charges in Denver, Arapahoe, and Douglas County can come from many different acts and require the assistance of a criminal defense lawyer in the Denver metro area. This charge usually results from an individual saying or doing something to another person which places that person in fear of imminent serious bodily injury. Many times, self-defense can be successfully argued as an affirmative defense to this charge.

An Example of Menacing from Everyday Life

This particular crime is open to interpretation as to how it should be charged by the police in Aurora, Lakewood, and Golden. You could say to your brother that you are going to kill him and that would usually be enough to charge you. Or, let’s imagine that you are on your own property when someone else arrives. You get your gun and show the intruder you are armed. You verbally tell them to leave. Later, the person who left your home calls the police and the cops in Arvada charge you with a crime. Menacing charges can result from this type of a situation.

Key Elements for Menacing in Colorado

The key factor in felony Menacing under C.R.S. 18-3-206 is whether you allegedly committed the threat while you have, or simulated you have, a deadly weapon. Threatening someone’s life or health in Broomfield, Adams, and Jefferson county is charged as a Class 3 misdemeanor. However, when there is a gun, car, bottle, or other ‘deadly weapon’ involved, then the alleged criminal act is charged as a Felony. The punishment for threatening someone can vary from 6 months in jail to 3 years in jail and a $750.00 to $100,000.00 fine. As you can see, the punishment for this crime is nothing to be taken lightly.

When you are dealing with Menacing charges in El Paso, Larimer, and Weld County, you need an attorney who understands the legal ramifications of this charge. You need a Denver based criminal defense lawyer who knows when, how, and why to use defenses to exonerate any criminal behavior you are charged with; a defense like self-defense. When you have an experienced criminal attorney working for you, the outcome and possible penalties for this crime will be the best for you.

When facing criminal charges in any Colorado County or city, be sure to hire an experienced attorney who has handled these charges before. So, If you’ve been contacted by police, have a warrant for your arrest, or have been charged with the crime of Menacing, be smart, exercise your right to remain silent, and call us for a free consultation at 303-731-0719. Together, we can protect your future.