Charged With A Crime? It Doesn’t Mean You’re Guilty.

Arson (C.R.S. 18-4-104) Attorney / Lawyer near Denver, Colorado

| Jul 2, 2013 | Arson |

Arson is essentially setting fire to the property of another. When someone is charged with the crime, they need an attorney who will help protect their rights and fight for their freedom. Fire crimes are multi-tiered criminal offenses which can be charged as any one of four crimes; First Degree Arson (C.R.S. 18-4-102), Second Degree Arson (C.R.S. 18-4-103), Third Degree Arson (C.R.S. 18-4-104), and Fourth Degree Arson (C.R.S. 18-4-105). In an exceptional way, this crime is one of the few crimes that any of the four different degrees could all be charged as a felony.

In Denver, Arapahoe, and Douglas County, Arson can be charged as a Class 3 Misdemeanor all the way to a Class 3 Felony. The punishment associated with these classes of penalties range from up to 6 months in jail to 12 years in prison. The need for an experienced attorney in Aurora, Denver and Lakewood should be apparent. The criminal lawyer could make the difference in an acquittal or a conviction, months in jail to years in prison.

With the Colorado wildfires currently raging all over the state, we can only hope that they began from nature and not through acts of man. However, if someone’s actions caused any of those fires to begin, you can only imagine the rage and fury that District Attorneys in El Paso, Jefferson, and Adams County would have in their prosecution of the person. Thankfully, we have an adversarial system of prosecution and the government in those counties will have the burden of proof to prove the person responsible beyond a reasonable doubt. The person charged will not have to prove their innocence.

When the police and sheriff’s deputies in Weld, Larimer, and Boulder County try to accuse you or someone you love, make sure to not say anything or allow them access to your property without a warrant. In cases where the origination of a fire is the most imperative aspect of a case, articles like gas cans, matches, lighters, and chemicals can make or break a case. If you voluntarily allow the police to search your home without a warrant, they may make false assumptions about the items in your home and accuse you of burning a building, land, or property when you had nothing to do with it.

Fighting a criminal case is difficult and requires the attention of a knowledgeable, experienced lawyer. So if you or someone you care about is charged with Arson anywhere in Colorado, be smart, exercise your right to remain silent and call us at 303-731-0719. Together we can protect your future.