Denver Criminal Defense Attorney | Sexual Offenses
Just when you thought the Colorado government couldn’t be more irrational, a crazy law too strange to imagine, is now in effect in Colorado. Probably encouraged by the Colorado sex offender treatment industry for more business, men and women convicted of ANY crime (including Possession of Marijuana – C.R.S. 18-18-406, check fraud – C.R.S. 18-5-205, Disorderly Conduct – C.R.S. 18-9-106, and Shoplifting – C.R.S. 18-4-401) must take a sex offender offense specific evaluation, and then do all the recommended treatment, if that person has ever, in any city or state, been convicted of a sex offense.
Sex Offense Specific Evaluation in Adams County
This crazy new law is enforceable in Denver, Adams, Arapahoe, Douglas, Jefferson County or any other Colorado county. Here is a practical example of how this law works: say that 12 years ago you were convicted in Arvada for Indecent Exposure under C.R.S. 18-7-302. You were drinking too much and went pee exposing yourself outside a restaurant. As a sex offender, you registered for several years, did all the necessary sex treatment and evaluations, and finally were pronounced safe to stop registering as a sex offender. Jump forward to today, when you are stopped for Driving While Under the Influence, C.R.S. 42-4-1301, in Northglenn (Adams County). Think the DUI alcohol classes, fines and a possible jail sentence are all you face? No, now you must complete a sex offense specific evaluation priced around $1,000.00, and complete treatment for four years if recommended.
Sex Offender Treatment in Jefferson County
Under this crazy Colorado sex offender law, any person previously convicted in any place for even the most minor sex offense, must be evaluated and do treatment if convicted of any new criminal offense – even if the new crime does not involve sexual misconduct. C.R.S. 16-11.7-102. Everyone awake should already be convinced that sex offender treatment is hard and expensive. There are also arduous rules like: you cannot be around kids – even your own. Sex offender treaters are allowed to dictate whether you can go near your wife, keep your job, use a computer or drive your car. They dictate the cell phone you can own, when you can go to the store, and what you can think about. Want to have sex with your spouse? Only if you first ask your probation officer and treatment provider for permission. This sex offender system is sick – through and through.
We have been fighting for good people like you caught in the sex offender system for over twenty years. If you have been contacted by law enforcement and have any sex offense in your history, be smart, exercise your right to remain silent, and call the experienced criminal defense attorneys at 303-731-0719. Together, we can protect your future.