Charged With A Crime? It Doesn’t Mean You’re Guilty.

Sexual Assault on a Child and Incest in Carbondale, C.R.S. 18-3-405

| May 14, 2012 | Sexual Assault on a Child |

Denver Sexual Assault Lawyer

An elderly author, psychotherapist and former Ivy League professor in Carbondale, Colorado, has been accused of Sexual Assault on Child by One in a Position of Trust (C.R.S. 18-3-405.3) and Incest (C.R.S. 18-6-301) by authorities in Chaffee County Colorado. Chaffee County is in the same judicial district as Park County, Fremont County and Custer County, where Sex Assault on a Child is either a class 3 or class 4 felony, depending on the age of the child and other aggravating factors, such as the issue of being in a position of trust or number of incidents. Incest is a class 4 felony.

Sexual Assault on a Child in Chaffee County: High Bond Amounts

The 81 year-old man accused in this case is currently in the Eagle County Jail on a $100,000 bond, while the police have continued their investigation by removing multiple computers and other electronics from his home. It is unclear at this time as to whether computer related sex crimes charges, such as Internet Sexual Exploitation of a Child (C.R.S. 18-3-405.4), will be added to the charges he is already facing. However, it is clear that he will remain in custody for the remainder of his case unless he can post bond, which gives the government plenty of time to find evidence against him. How’s that for the presumption of innocence?

Douglas County Sexual Offense Attorney

Being accused and/or convicted of a Sex Offense like Sexual Assault on a Child or Incest in Adams, Jefferson, or Douglas County can really impact your life. A Colorado conviction for a Sex Offense means years (and sometimes a lifetime) of having to register as Sex Offender and comply with the incredibly strict regulation of the Sex Offender Management Board (SOMB). For example, if the gentleman in this case were convicted of Sex Assault on a Child by One in a Position of Trust as a class 3 felony, he would have to Register as a Colorado Sex Offender for 20 years (C.R.S. 16-22-101).

Even if the accusations against you are unfounded, the mere suggestion that you are a Sex Offender can destroy your professional life, your relationships and your reputation. Do not face Sexual Assault, Incest, or Internet Sexual Exploitation charges without an experienced criminal defense attorney. At the O’Malley Law Office, our attorneys have years of experience defending those charged with a sex offense in any Colorado or Denver metro area county. If you have questions, be smart, exercise your right to remain silent, and call us today at 303-731-0719. Together, we can protect your future.