Denver Criminal Defense Attorney – What is Bond or Bail?
Colorado Bail / Bond essentials refer to the process of posting bond or bail in a court as insurance you will return on your felony or misdemeanor. Your criminal defense lawyer is essential in setting these terms. Judges in Colorado are fearful that defendants will not return to face charges once released, so they make you post a bond. C.R.S. 16-4-101 permits most persons charged with crimes to post bail / bond. Our criminal defense lawyers help keep the amount and conditions of bond reasonable in Denver, Jefferson, Arapahoe, Adams, Douglas, Weld and Larimer County. See more bond information on our firm’s Colorado Bail / Bond page.
Bail / Bond Conditions in Arapahoe County
Bail / Bonds carry conditions. The first is that you return to face your charges. Next, they will tell you that you cannot have contact with your alleged victim. They also instruct the defendant that he cannot harass, or intimidate witnesses to the crime. Next, there will be locations where you cannot go – like the home of the alleged victim. You will be instructed that you cannot possess a weapon. In many cases, you cannot consume alcohol or drugs. The court will also tell you that you cannot leave the state of Colorado. Finally, judges will place restrictions specfic to your case, to ensure you are available for trial and that you don’t commit any new offenses.
Denver Criminal Defense Attorney – How Can I Post Bond?
Bonds can always be posted in cash. Other methods generally included surety (bondsman), property bonds, and personal recognizance. Property bonds are usually less favored due to the uncertainty of property and establishing an effective lien priority. If you choose to use a bondsman, you will “rent” the money for 10-15%. You will lose this rental fee. Most bondmen require a cosigner or sufficient security to cover the amount of your bond. A personal recognizance bond requires no money up-front and is generally given with a first offense and less serious cases. Personal Assaults are more serious while Property Crimes are less so.
Bond / Bail Amounts in Adams County
Bonds for felonies will average below $10,000, except for sex cases like Internet Luring, Enticement of a Child and Sexual Assault on a Child, and homicide cases. Misdemeanor cases will generally be less than $10,000. Cases like Felony Assault will approach the $10,000 mark, while misdemeanor assaults might be $2,500. Injuries to the alleged victim, your criminal history, and ties to Colorado will all impact the specific dollar amount set by the court. It is important to have a criminal defense attorney with you when bond and bond conditions are set.
Colorado Bond / Bail amounts and conditions can affect whether you get to go to your job, come home, have contact with family members, or stay in jail. Don’t take a chance on your life. Always exercise your right to remain silent and call the experienced criminal defense attorneys at the O’Malley Law Office at 303-731-0719. Together, we can protect your future.