Photo Of Attorney Kyle B. Sawyer
Photo Of Attorney Kyle B. Sawyer

Charged With A Crime? It Doesn’t Mean You’re Guilty.

Longmont, Colorado Man Charged with Providing Alcohol to a Minor

On Behalf of | Jun 30, 2011 | Contributing to the Delinquency of a Minor |

Providing Alcohol to a Minor can have serious implications and can result in a misdemeanor or felony charges.  According to the Denver Post, almost two months after a 19 year old student jumped from a second story balcony, and later died, another student is being accused of Providing Alcohol to a Minor in the Weld County Court. The 22 year-old student, could spend 6 to 18 months in Weld County Jail, if convicted of this class-1 misdemeanor. If convicted, he will receive a six month suspension of his Colorado driver’s license as well.

Colorado Law

In Colorado, Providing Alcohol to a Minor is a criminal offense. Being a Minor in Possession is also a crime. If you are found guilty of an alcohol related crime, there will be difficulties in finding employment with liquor establishments who must maintain a liquor license.  More importantly, you run the risk of being responsible for the death or injury of a minor acting under the influence of alcohol. This case illustrates the grave consequences which might result from furnishing an underage person with alcohol.

In Colorado, if the person who was furnished the alcohol had been under the age of eighteen years, the alcohol provider would be charged with Colorado Contributing to the Delinquency of a Minor, a class four felony.  C.R.S. 18-6-701.  This crime is charged whenever a person “induces, aids, or encourages a child” to violate any law. It would take only a small change in facts for this 22 year old student to be guilty of a felony, and be facing prison.  We frequently see cases where parents or young adult friends buy a keg and allow children under the age of eighteen to drink.

We’ve been defending people in Colorado against allegations of Providing Alcohol to a Minor, and Contributing to the Delinquency of a Minor, for over 18 years, in every Colorado County, including: Weld, Larimer, Boulder, Arapahoe, Douglas, Jefferson and Denver County.  If you or a loved one has been contacted by the police for any reason, be smart, exercise the right to remain silent, and contact O’Malley Law Office, P.C. at 303-731-0719. Together, we can protect your future.