Charged With A Crime? It Doesn’t Mean You’re Guilty.

19-year-olds Arrested for Arson in Estes Park, Colorado

| Jun 10, 2011 | Arson |

Two young men were arrested for Arson in Estes Park for starting a fire in a home after they robbed it. Accordingly to The Denver Post, the two 19-year-old Estes Park, Colorado, residents are facing felony charges for first degree arson (a class 3 felony) and second degree burglary (a class four felony in our state) as well as a misdemeanor theft change. Upon arrest the young men were taken to Larimer County, Colorado, jail. (C.R.S 18-4-102, C.R.S. 18-4-203)

Colorado Arson charges typically result from fires thought to be intentionally set. The burned property can be any building or occupied structure. This class three felony charge reflects the serious risk of life to occupants of the structure or firefighters. Property losses recoverable as restitution can be substantial.

People are charged with Second Degree Burglary in Larimer County and other Colorado counties when there are allegations a person has broken into someone’s home with the intention of committing a crime. Most of the time, the crime involves stealing property from the dwelling of another person. We often see Colorado Second Degree Burglary charges in Larimer County when someone breaks into another person’s home with the intent to commit theft.

Colorado theft in Larimer County is classified in the Colorado Revised Statutes 18-4-401 as a class 2 misdemeanor if the value of the item involved is less than $500. It is a class 1 misdemeanor if the item involved is $500 to $999. It is a class 4 felony if the value is $1,000 to $19,999.99. If valued at $20,000 or more, then the theft is classified as a class 3 felony. Felonies have the risk of prison time.

At the O’Malley Law Office P.C., we only practice criminal law – we are not part-timers who also practice personal injury or divorce. We’ve dealt with thousands of felonies and misdemeanors. Larimer County, Colorado Arson, Second Degree Burglary, and Theft charges can be devastating to your future. Take these charges seriously, exercise your right to remain silent and call our experienced Colorado Criminal lawyers at 303-731-0719. Together, we can protect your future.