O'Malley Law Office, P.C. Free Initial Consultation
South Denver: 303-731-0719
North Denver: 303-916-9006
Toll free: 866-365-9351

Blog

Denver Prohibited Use of Weapons, C.R.S. 18-12-106 - Lawyer Help

Prohibited Use of Weapons, C.R.S. 18-12-106, is a crime in Denver, Arapahoe, and Jefferson County which is routinely overcharged and misapplied. Keeping in mind what situations commonly arise when a drunk person has a gun, can protect you from being charged with this crime. Thinking ahead can help you avoid needing the aid of a criminal defense lawyer in Larimer County.

Prohibited Conduct With Weapons

First of all, many situations will be charged as Prohibited Use of a Weapon. You could be under the influence of alcohol and in possession of a firearm, shoot a firearm, discharge a bow and arrow, aim a firearm at another person, set a trap designed to cause an explosion if tripped, or use throwing stars or nunchakus in a public place. These are all criminal acts contemplated by the Colorado State Statute at C.R.S. 18-12-106.

The Problem with Talking to Police

If you are charged with firing a gun in a public place in Westminster, Lakewood, or Aurora, police will attempt to get you to talk. Sometimes, they try and get you to sign a statement telling them what happened. Here's the problem with this: you are only hurting yourself when you speak with police. Responsible gun owners think they have a duty to speak with the police in situations where they use their gun in Self Defense (C.R.S. 18-1-704). The problem is that when you use your gun to stop an Assault (C.R.S. 18-3-204), Burglary (18-4-201), or Theft (C.R.S. 18-4-401), you will become the object of the police officer's investigation for potential charges. Always, refrain from speaking to cops.

Prohibited Use of Weapons Can be a Felony or Misdemeanor

When the police charge you with Prohibited Use of Weapons in Weld, Adams, or Douglas County, you will be facing a class 2 misdemeanor. This carries a maximum punishment of up to one year in jail and up to a $1,000.00 fine. However, if you are twice convicted of discharging a weapon, you will be facing a class 5 felony. A class 5 felony in Colorado courts carries up to 6 years in the Department of Corrections and up to a $100,000.00 fine.

Prohibited Use of Weapons is a serious crime which requires the early assistance of a criminal lawyer. Our attorneys know how to fight to preserve your gun rights. Unlike many other criminal defense attorneys, we value your 2nd Amendment rights. So, if you or a loved one have been charged with Prohibited Use of Weapons, be smart, exercise your right to remain silent and call us today at 303-731-0719. Together, we can protect your future.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
Facing Charges? Get Help Now!

GET HELP NOW!

Tell us about your case and one of our experienced attorneys will get back to you promptly.

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Case Results:

  • Sexual Assault and Rape charges related to divorce. Acquittal from jury trial. Weld County, Greeley, Colorado.
  • Sexual Assault on a Child, Possession of Child Pornography. Acquittal from jury trial. Jefferson County, Golden, Colorado.
  • Arson of Nursing Home. Dismissed by Court on Defendant's Motion to Dismiss. Jefferson County, Golden, Colorado.
  • Felony Drug Distribution. Acquittal from jury trial. Boulder County, Boulder, Colorado.
  • Rape and Sexual Assault charges involving divorce and child custody. Acquittal from jury trial. Douglas County, Castle Rock, Colorado.
  • Burglary and Felony Theft. Dismissed by District Attorney. Arapahoe County, Englewood, Colorado.
  • Theft of Drugs by Nurse. Dismissed by District Attorney. Jefferson County, Golden, Colorado.
  • Sexual Assault on a Child, Position of Trust. Acquittal from Jury Trial. Adams County, Brighton, Colorado.
  • Domestic Violence. Dismissed by District Attorney. Douglas County, Castle Rock, Colorado.
  • Violation of Restraining Order. Dismissed by District Attorney. Douglas County, Castle Rock.

24 hour emergency service Same-day jail visits Free initial consultation Reasonable fees Flexible payment plans

Call Toll free: 866-365-9351 South Denver: 303-731-0719 North Denver: 303-916-9006 Email us

FindLaw Network

Privacy Policy | Business Development Solutions by FindLaw, a Thomson Reuters business.