O'Malley Law Office, P.C. Free Initial Consultation
South Denver: 303-731-0719
North Denver: 303-916-9006
Toll free: 866-365-9351

Blog

Assault Charges in Denver, C.R.S. 18-3-204 - Criminal Lawyer

Charges of Assault in Denver, Arapahoe, and Douglas County vary greatly from felony to misdemeanor assaults. These cases require the assistance of an experienced criminal defense lawyer in the metro area. Assault can be charged as First Degree (C.R.S. 18-3-202, a felony), Second Degree (C.R.S. 18-3-203, a felony), or Third Degree (C.R.S. 18-3-204, a misdemeanor). Most people think that this is a simple crime that results when you beat up someone else. Unfortunately, these charges for hurting someone can be charged because of intentional and unintentional acts.

Accidental Conduct Can be Charged Too

In Jefferson, Weld, and Adams County, shooting someone with a gun or stabbing a person with a knife is considered Assault, and you do not even need to have the intent to shoot or stab / cut them. Colorado allows a person to be charged for acts that are accidental. For instance, you are cleaning a gun and it goes off and shoots your friend in the leg. Even though you had no desire to injure your buddy, you can still be charged with a crime.

Bodily Injury = Pain

Another situation where we see Assault charges in Larimer, Broomfield, and El Paso County is where a person pushes another person out of their way, or where they are fighting another. When you shove someone, all the "victim" needs to say is that the shove hurt them in some way. As soon as they use those magic words, the police in Denver, Lakewood, and Thornton will immediately charge you. You may be thinking that a person is not injured from the push or they are lying about the pain level. Unfortunately, it only matters what the cops believe. If the person states that they received "bodily injury," which means they felt pain, then the Sheriff's will arrest you or give you a summons.

Stiff Penalties for Colorado Assault Charges

Assault charges in Aurora, Boulder, and Greely are a very serious crime. If you are charged with a municipal code violation (city court), the punishment can be up to one year in jail and up to a $1,000.00 fine. If you are charged in County or State Court, the punishment can be greater than 12 years in prison and a several hundred thousand dollar fine. When dealing with Assault Charges in any Colorado County, you need an attorney on your side who will fight for your rights and always have your best interest at heart. So, if you or someone you know has been charged with this crime, be smart, exercise your right to remain silent, and call us today at 303-731-0719. Together, we can protect your future.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
Facing Charges? Get Help Now!

GET HELP NOW!

Tell us about your case and one of our experienced attorneys will get back to you promptly.

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Case Results:

  • Sexual Assault and Rape charges related to divorce. Acquittal from jury trial. Weld County, Greeley, Colorado.
  • Sexual Assault on a Child, Possession of Child Pornography. Acquittal from jury trial. Jefferson County, Golden, Colorado.
  • Arson of Nursing Home. Dismissed by Court on Defendant's Motion to Dismiss. Jefferson County, Golden, Colorado.
  • Felony Drug Distribution. Acquittal from jury trial. Boulder County, Boulder, Colorado.
  • Rape and Sexual Assault charges involving divorce and child custody. Acquittal from jury trial. Douglas County, Castle Rock, Colorado.
  • Burglary and Felony Theft. Dismissed by District Attorney. Arapahoe County, Englewood, Colorado.
  • Theft of Drugs by Nurse. Dismissed by District Attorney. Jefferson County, Golden, Colorado.
  • Sexual Assault on a Child, Position of Trust. Acquittal from Jury Trial. Adams County, Brighton, Colorado.
  • Domestic Violence. Dismissed by District Attorney. Douglas County, Castle Rock, Colorado.
  • Violation of Restraining Order. Dismissed by District Attorney. Douglas County, Castle Rock.

24 hour emergency service Same-day jail visits Free initial consultation Reasonable fees Flexible payment plans

Call Toll free: 866-365-9351 South Denver: 303-731-0719 North Denver: 303-916-9006 Email us

FindLaw Network

Privacy Policy | Business Development Solutions by FindLaw, a Thomson Reuters business.