O'Malley Law Office, P.C. Free Initial Consultation
South Denver: 303-731-0719
North Denver: 303-916-9006
Toll free: 866-365-9351

Blog

Sex Offender Registration Lawyer Explains the Rules to Register and Deregister in Colorado

Sex-Offender-Registration.jpgSex Offender Registration Rules in Colorado

Every sexual offense, like Sexual Assault, Internet Luring or Unlawful Sexual Contact, requires sex offender registration in Adams County. How long someone needs to register is an important question people ask us. The most common question though is whether they can discontinue registration. Let's look at those two questions in today's blog.

How Long does a Sex Offender Need to Register?

The length of registration in Jefferson County and across Colorado depends on the classification of the sex offense you were convicted of. Here is the basic length, subject to some modifications for some crimes:

Class 1 Felony Sex Crime - 20 years following release from prison, parole or probation

Class 2 Felony Sex Offense - 20 years following release from prison, parole or probation

Class 3 Felony Sex Crime - 20 years following release from prison, parole or probation

Class 4 Felony Sexual Offense - 10 years following release from prison, parole or probation

Class 5 Felony Sexual Crime - 10 years following release from prison, parole or probation

Class 6 Felony Sexual Offense - 10 years following release from prison, parole or probation

Class 1 Misdemeanor Sex Offense - 10 years following release from jail or probation

Class 2 Misdemeanor Sexual Offense - 5 years following release from jail or probation

Class 3 Misdemeanor Sexual Crime - 5 years following release from jail or probation

Please note that some felony sex offenses, like Sexual Assault and Sexual Assault on a Child have lifetime registration in Denver. Also, adults who have a combined two or more adult convictions or juvenile adjudications for sex offenses may be required to register for a lifetime. This includes one adult and one juvenile, for a total of two offenses.

How to Discontinue Registration as a Sex Offender in Arapahoe County, Colorado

Once your registration requirements have been fulfilled, you can petition a court to discontinue registration in Arapahoe County. Your petition will then be set for a hearing, where the district attorney, victims, police, probation officers, parole officers and treatment providers can come and object or offer their support for your request. A petition to discontinue registration is not a guaranteed success. Courts heavily weigh the opinion of other government officials. They also care whether you have completed treatment, so they can have confidence that your likelihood of reoffending is reduced.

Eligibility to Discontinue Registration Attorney - Douglas County

Your eligibility to discontinue registration depends on many complicated factors in Douglas County Colorado. There are exceptions to the general rules listed above. So, it is best to come and meet with an experienced deregistration lawyer and discuss your particular situation.

Never give a statement to police about your registration or any criminal offense. Instead, call us 24/7 at 303-731-0719. Together, we can protect your future.

Image Credit: FreeDigitalPhotos.net - Stuart Miles

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
Facing Charges? Get Help Now!

GET HELP NOW!

Tell us about your case and one of our experienced attorneys will get back to you promptly.

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Case Results:

  • Sexual Assault and Rape charges related to divorce. Acquittal from jury trial. Weld County, Greeley, Colorado.
  • Sexual Assault on a Child, Possession of Child Pornography. Acquittal from jury trial. Jefferson County, Golden, Colorado.
  • Arson of Nursing Home. Dismissed by Court on Defendant's Motion to Dismiss. Jefferson County, Golden, Colorado.
  • Felony Drug Distribution. Acquittal from jury trial. Boulder County, Boulder, Colorado.
  • Rape and Sexual Assault charges involving divorce and child custody. Acquittal from jury trial. Douglas County, Castle Rock, Colorado.
  • Burglary and Felony Theft. Dismissed by District Attorney. Arapahoe County, Englewood, Colorado.
  • Theft of Drugs by Nurse. Dismissed by District Attorney. Jefferson County, Golden, Colorado.
  • Sexual Assault on a Child, Position of Trust. Acquittal from Jury Trial. Adams County, Brighton, Colorado.
  • Domestic Violence. Dismissed by District Attorney. Douglas County, Castle Rock, Colorado.
  • Violation of Restraining Order. Dismissed by District Attorney. Douglas County, Castle Rock.

24 hour emergency service Same-day jail visits Free initial consultation Reasonable fees Flexible payment plans

Call Toll free: 866-365-9351 South Denver: 303-731-0719 North Denver: 303-916-9006 Email us

FindLaw Network

Privacy Policy | Business Development Solutions by FindLaw, a Thomson Reuters business.