O'Malley Law Office, P.C. Free Initial Consultation
South Denver: 303-731-0719
North Denver: 303-916-9006
Toll free: 866-365-9351

Blog

Fire-Breather Faces Arson Charge in Colorado, C.R.S. 18-4-101

Last year, a man was charged with two counts of Arson as he performed as a fire-breather in Weld County, Colorado. Witnesses said he spit ignited fluid towards two men (don't try that at home!).  He was also charged with two counts of Reckless Endangerment (C.R.S. 18-3-208).

Arson is a serious offense in all Colorado counties such as Adams, Douglas, and Boulder County. It can be charged when a person sets fire to another's property, or when they burn their own property and others are hurt or put at risk.

There are 4 degrees of arson in Jefferson County, Colorado, and others, based on the nature and severity of the crime, and the cost of the damage.  Your criminal defense lawyer will try to distinguish your case from the most serious.

*First degree arson (C.R.S. 18-4-102): involves a person knowingly sets fire to any building or occupied structure of another without his consent. This is a class 3 felony.

*Second degree arson (C.R.S. 18-4-103): occurs when a person knowingly sets fire to any property of another without his consent, other than a building or occupied structure. Second degree arson is a class 4 felony if the damage is $100 or more, but only a class 2 misdemeanor if the damage is less than $100.

*Third degree arson (C.R.S. 18-4-104): is charged when someone, by means of fire or explosives, intentionally damages any property with intent to defraud. This is a class 4 felony.

*Fourth degree arson (C.R.S. 18-4-105): happens when someone knowingly or recklessly starts or maintains a fire or causes an explosion, on his own property or that of another, and by so doing places another in danger of death or serious bodily injury or places any building or occupied structure of another in danger. If someone is endangered, it is a class 4 felony. If only property is endangered and the value of the property is $100 dollars or more, it is a class 2 misdemeanor. If the value of the property is less than $100, then it is a class 3 misdemeanor.

-It shall not be an arson offense pursuant to this section if:

a. a person starts and maintains a fire as a controlled agricultural burn in a reasonably cautious manner; and

b. no person suffers any of the following as a result of the fire: bodily injury, serious bodily injury, or death.

If you are facing charges of arson of any type in a Colorado County like Broomfield, Arapahoe, or Denver, you need one of our experienced attorneys to represent you. Call us today at the O'Malley Law Office at 303-731-0719. Together, we can protect your future.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
Facing Charges? Get Help Now!

GET HELP NOW!

Tell us about your case and one of our experienced attorneys will get back to you promptly.

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Case Results:

  • Sexual Assault and Rape charges related to divorce. Acquittal from jury trial. Weld County, Greeley, Colorado.
  • Sexual Assault on a Child, Possession of Child Pornography. Acquittal from jury trial. Jefferson County, Golden, Colorado.
  • Arson of Nursing Home. Dismissed by Court on Defendant's Motion to Dismiss. Jefferson County, Golden, Colorado.
  • Felony Drug Distribution. Acquittal from jury trial. Boulder County, Boulder, Colorado.
  • Rape and Sexual Assault charges involving divorce and child custody. Acquittal from jury trial. Douglas County, Castle Rock, Colorado.
  • Burglary and Felony Theft. Dismissed by District Attorney. Arapahoe County, Englewood, Colorado.
  • Theft of Drugs by Nurse. Dismissed by District Attorney. Jefferson County, Golden, Colorado.
  • Sexual Assault on a Child, Position of Trust. Acquittal from Jury Trial. Adams County, Brighton, Colorado.
  • Domestic Violence. Dismissed by District Attorney. Douglas County, Castle Rock, Colorado.
  • Violation of Restraining Order. Dismissed by District Attorney. Douglas County, Castle Rock.

24 hour emergency service Same-day jail visits Free initial consultation Reasonable fees Flexible payment plans

Call Toll free: 866-365-9351 South Denver: 303-731-0719 North Denver: 303-916-9006 Email us

FindLaw Network

Privacy Policy | Business Development Solutions by FindLaw, a Thomson Reuters business.