Assault in the Second Degree - Denver

Second Degree Assault Attorney in Denver and Adams County - A Deadly Weapon Crime

Second Degree Assault - C.R.S. 18-3-203 is a serious charge in Denver and Adams County. This crime usually involves the injury of another person with the use of a deadly weapon. If you or a loved one is facing charges of second degree assault, it is important that you contact an experienced criminal defense attorney immediately before giving your statement to the police. The consequences of an assault conviction are life-changing, and working with a criminal lawyer who has a thorough understanding of the law and the court system will protect your future.

The consequences to an assault conviction are life-changing; don't stand alone in front of a judge or jury

Second Degree Assault Definition in Jefferson and Arapahoe County

You will be charged with second degree assault in Jefferson, Larimer and Arapahoe County if you:

  • "With intent to cause bodily injury to another person," cause an injury to another person using a deadly weapon; or
  • "With intent to cause bodily injury to another person," cause serious bodily injury to that person or another; or
  • "With intent to prevent" someone you know to be a police officer or firefighter from performing their lawful duty, and in so doing you intentionally cause bodily injury; or
  • "Recklessly" cause serious bodily injury to another person using a deadly weapon; or
  • Administer a drug which causes unconsciousness, stupor, or other physical or mental impairments without consent, and for a reason other than a lawful medical treatment; or
  • Apply physical force against a peace officer or firefighter while lawfully confined or in custody (such as after being charged with or convicted of a criminal offense); or
  • "With intent to infect, injure, harm, harass, annoy, threaten, or alarm" an employee of a detention center (if you are in prison) by causing them to come into contact with bodily fluids such as blood, urine, saliva, etc.

Second Degree Assault Douglas County Sentence Range

A Second degree assault conviction will result in either a class 3 felony (if the assault occurred during the commission or attempt to commit another crime such as murder, robbery, burglary, arson, escape, kidnapping, sexual assault, or sexual assault on a child) to a class 6 felony in El Paso, Larimer and Boulder County. Sentence ranges include:

Class 6 Felony: 1 year - 18 months in the Colorado Department of Corrections

Class 4 Felony: 2 - 6 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections

Class 3 Felony: 4 - 12 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections

If you use a weapon against another person, or use a drug to limit their ability to retaliate, you will be charged with second degree assault. A "deadly weapon" can be a gun or a knife, but can also be a broken bottle or simply your fists. This charge is especially serious if you harmed a police officer or prison guard.

Aurora, Lakewood and Castle Rock Experienced 2nd Degree Assault Lawyer

Mandatory sentencing is associated with second degree assault in Aurora, Lakewood and Castle Rock.  It is vital that you contact an attorney as soon as possible if you have been charged. Much of the evidence which is needed for your defense can be lost as time progresses. We cannot stress the importance of the early involvement of a criminal defense attorney enough. In many cases, our attorneys will:

  • Personally go to the crime scene to gather evidence
  • Personally speak with witnesses

If you have been accused of second degree assault after a bar fight or other incident in Weld, Logan and Morgan County, contact a criminal lawyer immediately before speaking to the police. You limit our ability to defend you in court when you give a statement to the police. We will work to create a strong defense early on in the case in order to get your charges dismissed, work on a non-prison plea agreement, or get you acquitted at a jury trial.

Our Denver Law Firm for Assault Charges

The criminal defense attorneys at our office have been defending people accused of second degree assault in Centennial and Lone Trees for over two decades. We fight hard. If you or a loved one has been charged with assault, be smart, exercise your right to remain silent, and contact an experienced criminal defense attorney for a free consultation at 303-731-0719. Together, we can protect your future.


Related Links:

Facing Charges? Get Help Now!