Colorado Domestic Violence - Questions and Answers

Denver Domestic Violence

What Are the Common C.R.S. 18-6-800.3 Domestic Violence Crimes?

Every Colorado crime can become a Denver domestic violence crime if it involves violence, intimidation, coercion, control or revenge involving persons who have been intimate. As lawyers, we see misdemeanor crimes of domestic violence harassment or domestic violence assault. These crimes are common because they involve pushing or hitting of another. Felony domestic violence charges are likely if the injury to the alleged victim is more serious.

What Does It Take to Prove a Domestic Violence Charge in Colorado?

District attorneys in Arapahoe, Adams, Denver, Douglas and Jefferson counties will concentrate first on whether the underlying crime's elements can be established. After crossing that threshold, they will need to show the jury that a defendant has been sexually intimate with the victim. Finally, they will try and prove that the crime involved an act or threat of violence, or that the crime involved an effort of control, coercion, punishment, intimidation or revenge. C.R.S. 18-6-800.3. The Colorado legislature has made it easier to prove this crime by making prior incidents of domestic violence admissible at trial.

What Is the Common Punishment for Colorado Domestic Violence?

While a judge can impose jail, prison (for felonies), probation, fines and community service for a domestic violence conviction, he or she must always impose 36 weeks of domestic violence counseling. This one size fits all approach to treatment is mandated by the Colorado legislature for all convictions. Only certain approved therapists can provide domestic violence counseling.

How Do We Defend Against Domestic Violence?

There are many defenses to domestic violence depending on the circumstances of a case. Often, we use the affirmative defense of self-defense in domestic violence cases. Self-defense is available if a person feels another is about to have unlawful physical contact with him or her, or has already received unlawful physical contact. A man is allowed to push a woman if she pushes him. A woman can slap a man who has pushed her. However, a woman cannot stab a man with a knife who has pushed her. The amount of force used by the defendant must be reasonable in light of the actual or anticipated force of the alleged victim.

Who Should You Choose for Your Lawyer?

We have over 20 years of defending against domestic violence charges in Highlands Ranch, Castle Rock, Littleton, Aurora and other Colorado cities. Our attorneys dig deep to find defenses to save your career and family. If you've been contacted by the police, be smart, exercise your right to remain silent and call us today at 303-731-0719. Together, we can protect your future.

Facing Charges? Get Help Now!