Photo Of Kyle B. Sawyer
Photo Of Kyle B. Sawyer

Charged With A Crime? It Doesn’t Mean You’re Guilty.

Shoplifting Theft In Colorado

Shoplifting In Denver, Colorado – A Theft Crime

Shoplifting in Denver, Colorado, may feel like a high school prank, but it can be charged as a felony or misdemeanor, and have lifelong implications for the person charged. In some cases, shoplifting can quickly escalate into robbery. In most shoplifting cases in Denver, Park Hill, and Montbello, the accused is charged with stealing or attempting to steal something of value from a retail store.

Criminal Record And Sentence For Shoplifting In Jefferson County, Colorado

Whether shoplifting is charged as a felony or misdemeanor in Golden, Lakewood or Arvada, depends on the value of the item(s) involved. Jefferson County, Colorado, shoplifting theft law is detailed at C.R.S. 18-4-401 as a Class 2 misdemeanor if the value of the item taken is greater than $300 but less than $1,000. It is a Class 1 misdemeanor if the item involved is $1,000 – $1,999. It is a Class 4 felony if the value is $5,000 to $20,000. If valued at $20,000 or more, then the theft is classified as a Class 3 felony. Remember, a felony is punished by imprisonment in the Colorado Department of Corrections, and misdemeanors are punished in the Arapahoe County Jail, Denver County Jail, Douglas County Jail, and Adams County Jail. Our criminal defense lawyers represent people accused of Shoplifting in county courts and municipal courts like Lakewood Municipal Court and Aurora Municipal Court.

Douglas County Shoplifting Quickly Turns Into A Felony

When young people commit this crime, our society first sees it as a minor property offense. Young people can be given special consideration in plea negotiations and sentencing due to their immaturity and lack of criminal history. However, Douglas County, Colorado, shoplifting can quickly turn into serious criminal conduct by kids and adults. In the event a shoplifter is confronted by an employee or store security, the crime can escalate into a Class 5 felony “theft from the person of another,” C.R.S. 18-4-401(5). If there is any type of struggle for the item in the process of leaving the store, the crime escalates to the Class 4 felony “robbery”, C.R.S. 18-4-301. Robbery’s definition is the “knowingly taking anything of value from the person or presence of another by the use of force, threats or intimidation.” If a knife or gun is used in any way, the charges will quickly escalate into a crime of violence with mandatory prison time.

Civil Penalty For Shoplifting In Arapahoe County And Adams County Thefts

Colorado lawmakers have created a civil fine for shoplifting, at C.R.S. 13-21-107.5. Here, with little effort, retailers can obtain an automatic civil penalty/fine against a shoplifter in Arapahoe County for losses from the theft. The business can collect actual damages plus a penalty from $100 to $250 from the shoplifter. Parents are responsible to pay these charges on behalf of a minor child. Usually, nationwide stores have a department that sends out letters to shoplifters and their parents, demanding payment of these costs. The purpose of this law is to reimburse retailers in Adams County for the expense of store security personnel and equipment, necessitated by shoplifters.

Aurora, Lakewood, Westminster Municipal Courts For Shoplifting

Municipal courts in Westminster, Lakewood and Aurora regularly prosecute shoplifting cases for lower dollar amounts. Our Colorado criminal defense lawyers have defended hundreds of people in these cities, and in Castle Rock, Arvada, Golden, Sheridan, Centennial and Littleton. We seek to prevent a long-term record from impairing a teenager’s lifetime record. Adults can lose employment or housing opportunities over shoplifting convictions. Our case results speak for themselves. We take an aggressive approach requiring strict proof of any shoplifting allegations. We confidently approach judges, city attorneys and district attorneys to protect your rights and record. We find real solutions to guard your criminal record and employment. In short, we are there for you or your child throughout the process. Come to our office for a free consultation and learn about your charges and options.

If you have been contacted by a Colorado police officer or retail store security officer, be smart, exercise your right to remain silent, and call us at 303-731-0719. Together, we can protect your future.

Facing Charges? Get Help Now!