With prom season in full swing throughout Colorado, teenagers are preparing for exciting evenings with their friends and that special date. The last thing on their minds is a criminal charge of juvenile sexual assault. But should it be? Accusations of sexual assault, misconduct, and abuse don't just apply to adults. Minors can face severe consequences that can significantly impact their current realities and future. If your son or daughter is being accused of unlawful sexual behavior, contacting a skilled juvenile sexual assault attorney is a vital step in protecting their future.
Juvenile Crime Conviction in Denver, Colorado
In some cases, but not all, juveniles in Denver, Colorado who have violated the law can be convicted of a crime, so long as they are at least 10 years old. Only when the juvenile is at least 16 years old, can the District Attorney file adult charges, where a conviction may result. This filing process is called a Direct File or Direct Filing. Recently, the Colorado governor signed a law into place which raised the age limit from 14 to 16 years old, when the DA may do a Direct File on a juvenile. The new law allows DAs to charge young kids as adults in murder, violent sex crimes, kidnapping and assaults which are violent. Juveniles charged via the Direct File can appeal to a district judge, who gets to say whether or not the child should be tried as an adult.
Juvenile Crime in Jefferson County, Colorado
Juveniles will think they are invincible, untouchable when it comes to crime, until they are facing the life-altering consequences of a serious conviction like First-degree arson or Minor in Possession of Alcohol. Teenagers may not understand the seriousness of their actions, might see their behavior as innocent "fun", peer pressure may have played a huge factor, or underage drinking could have affected their better judgment. We know that mistakes happen, and we do not believe that your child's future should have to suffer for a lapse in judgment.
Denver County Lawyer for Firearm Possession on School Grounds | 18-12-105.5 Charges
Unlawfully Carrying a Concealed Weapon (or Unlawful Possession of Weapons), C.R.S. 18-12-105, can be a serious charge in Denver County, and should not be taken lightly. Police will arrest you and charge you with anything from a misdemeanor to a felony depending on the situation. With the rise in resent school shootings, Possessing a Firearm on School Grounds is taken more seriously than ever before, and has people more vigilant for possible threats.
Children Charged with Sexual Assault - Potential Sentence and Jail in Douglas County, Colorado
Juveniles, kids and teenagers in Douglas County and Highlands Ranch become clients of ours due to charges of sexual assault. Whether your child is a babysitter who has touched a younger child, or kids acting on a dare, police and district attorneys charge kids with this crime. We even had a child client who was 10 years old - the very youngest possible. The Sheriff's Department in Jefferson County charged her with Sexual Assault. Juvenile Crimes Lawyer.
Juvenile Assault Attorney in Arapahoe County, Colorado
Juvenile crimes committed by teenagers and high school students can leave a permanent mark on your child's criminal record. Never give permission for your child to speak with police about accusations connected with their school, threats to other kids, or drug use. Juvenile Court System.
Juvenile Sexual Assault Allegations in Castle Rock, Castle Pines and Parker
Juvenile Sexual Assault usually involves the knowing touching of the private parts of one child by another. There are few more harmful allegations for your teen or preteen to be facing. Why? Because Colorado law is harsh on kids, just like it is on adults, when allegations of sexual abuse arise. Juvenile Sexual Assault in Colorado.
Douglas County Lawyer for Juvenile Charges - Set the Plea Up for Expungement / Sealing
Did you know that in Douglas County and across Colorado there are some crimes which a juvenile is accused of which many not be sealable or able to be expunged? For this reason, if your child has been charged in a delinquency action with a crime, be sure and get some help early on. Just today, I was in this court and convinced the DA to change the charges from a felony to a misdemeanor. This greatly helped my client do better with his future criminal record's expungement. A juvenile criminal defense lawyer was very important to this young man who hopes to get his record expunged one day.
Attorney for Juvenile Delinquency Charges - Keep Their Criminal Record Clean
Title 19 of the Colorado Revised Statutes is also known as the Colorado Children's Code. Although children charged with crimes are treated differently than adults in Jefferson and Douglas County, parents should know that Juvenile crimes often carry lifetime consequences. Any crime that can be committed by an adult in Douglas County, can also be charged against a juvenile. We know kids will do things impulsively without thinking of potential consequences and the effect on their future. Your children need to know that a criminal record can have a lasting and devastating impact on their future plans. Read more below and educate your kids on these consequences.