Photo of Attorneys at Sawyer Legal Group, LLC
Photo of Attorneys at Sawyer Legal Group, LLC

Charged With A Crime? It Doesn’t Mean You’re Guilty.

Unlawful Sexual Contact Lawyer in Fort Collins | Massage Therapist Sentenced

by | May 17, 2022 | Unlawful Sexual Contact |

Unlawful sexual contact charges can stem from many different situations throughout Larimer, Boulder, and Weld County. Earlier this month, a former massage therapist was sentenced to 6 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections after behaviors reported by three prior clients. Allegations of unwanted touching aren’t uncommon in massage settings and the employee / employer are often contacted by police. It is essential that the accused not speak with law enforcement in these situations. Instead, exercise your right to remain silent and contact an experienced unlawful sexual contact lawyer capable of fighting charges of this nature.

What Does Unlawful Sexual Contact Include in Larimer County?

Sometimes misunderstood by the media, unlawful sexual contact laws prohibit acts of groping or fondling without consent. These behaviors are not sexual assault. CRS 18-3-404 defines unlawful sexual contact in Fort Collins, Boulder, and Greeley. Police can pursue charges if they believe you:

  • knowingly, without consent,
  • touched another person’s intimate parts,
  • or caused a person to touch your intimate parts

Specifically, touching a woman’s breast(s), butt, or genital area (exposed or clothed) for the purpose of arousal, gratification, or abuse without their permission is enough for charges to result. Additionally, a current or prior romantic relationship doesn’t equal consent in these situations.

How Bad is Unlawful Sexual Contact in Fort Collins?

Unlawful sexual contact ranges from a misdemeanor to a felony in Fort Collins, Loveland, and Longmont depending on the specific details of the case. When the case doesn’t involve force, intimidation, threat, a deadly weapon, or injury, a class 1 misdemeanor applies. Defendants in these scenarios face:

  • up to a year in county jail,
  • a maximum fine of $1K

However, the aggravating factors above escalate unlawful sexual contact to a serious felony, potentially resulting in significant prison time and an indeterminate sentence. A sexual contact conviction also requires a minimum of 10 years of sex offender registration.

Larimer County Sex Crimes Defense

An allegation of a sex offense in Larimer County is alarming. Defendants face an uphill battle that is riddled with a presumption of guilt and disgust from society. However, as criminal defense attorneys with decades of combined experience, not all cases are what they seem or what the media paints them to be. Perhaps the alleged victim’s conduct indicated consent, intimate parts were never involved, or arousal / gratification weren’t the purpose of the contact. Nonetheless, contact our office today for a free, confidential consultation with a skilled Larimer County sex crimes lawyer.

We offer same-day jail visits, affordable fees, and flexible payment plans for those facing charges throughout northern Colorado.

Don’t talk to police about unlawful sexual contact charges – talk to us. 303-731-0719

Photo by Ron Lach